Jump to Navigation

Constitution Hall - Kansas Territorial Characters

Come one! Come all! To an 1850s Kansas Territorial Town Hall political meeting. Members of the Lecompton Reenactors acting troupe will present the play "Kansas Territorial Characters" by J. Howard Duncan. Actors will portray some of the famous and not-so-famous Kansans from the turbulent Bleeding Kansas era. Listen to Charles Robinson, Sara Robinson, James Lane, John Brown, Clarina Nichols, Samuel Jones, David Atchison, Andrew Reeder, John Stringfellow, Molly Duncan, Lois Brown, and Mahala Doyle, among others as they passionately express their feelings on the issue of slavery in Kansas, both pro and con.

Admission is $3 adults, $1 students. Kansas Historical Foundation members and children five and under are admitted free. Constitution Hall State Historic Site is located at 319 Elmore, Lecompton.