Jump to Navigation

National and State Registers of Historic Places

Results of Query:

County: Butler
Records: All Properties

New Search

Page 2 of 3 showing 10 records of 30 total, starting on record 11
1 | 2 | 3


El Dorado Downtown Historic District

Picture of property Downtown El Dorado
El Dorado (Butler County)
Listed in National Register 2013-10-30

Architect: Boller Brothers; George Washburn; etc.
Category: commerce

The El Dorado Downtown Historic District encompasses the heart of El Dorado's central business district, incorporating 111 properties along Main Street, the main north/south thoroughfare (U.S. 77), and Central Avenue (U.S. 54), the main east/west thoroughfare. El Dorado was platted in 1868 and incorporated in 1871, but serious development came later with the arrival of rail lines - the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railroad in 1877 and the St. Louis, Fort Scott & Wichita Railroad in 1883. The city’s early economy was tied entirely to its role as a railroad and trade center for the region’s thriving farming and ranching industries. The discovery of oil near El Dorado in 1915 dramatically changed the downtown. The boom financed civic and infrastructure improvements and created new markets for downtown businesses. In 1939, the WPA Guide described El Dorado's business district as "a mixture of sturdy plain limestone buildings of pioneer days and ornate structures built during the oil boom." Today, the extant buildings interpret an array of historic uses and interpret the community's evolution from a railroad shipping point to an oil town to a mid-century auto-friendly business district. The El Dorado Downtown Historic District was nominated for its local significance in the areas of community planning and commerce.



El Dorado Missouri Pacific Depot

Picture of property 430 N Main St
El Dorado (Butler County)
Listed in National Register 1994-05-06

Architect: E. M. Tucker
Category: rail-related



First Presbyterian Church of De Graff

Picture of property 1145 NW 108th Street
Burns vicinity (Butler County)
Listed in National Register 2014-06-27

Architect: Price, Benjamin
Category: religious facility

Constructed circa 1903, the former First Presbyterian Church of De Graff was built during the community's heyday as an agricultural and livestock shipping point along the Florence, El Dorado and Walnut Valley Railway, a spur of the Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railway. The church is one of the few remaining buildings that made up this once-thriving community. It was designed by church architect Benjamin Price who sold catalogs of his church plans. It reflects a vernacular interpretation of the Gothic Revival style executed in wood materials, commonly referred to as Carpenter Gothic. The building features a cross-gable plan with a corner tower entrance and decorative window and gable ornament somewhat common in rural church architecture of this period. These features also are reflective of the Queen Anne architectural style that was popular in the late 19th century romantic movement. An addition was added to the east side of the building in 1956. The church closed in 2006 and reopened as De Graff Community Church in 2009. It was nominated for its local significance in the area of architecture.



Gish, Amos H., Building

Picture of property 317 South Main
El Dorado (Butler County)
Listed in National Register 2012-07-03

Architect: Not listed
Category: professional; specialty store; domestic; multiple dwelling

After graduating from the veterinary program at Kansas State College in 1910, Amos Gish moved to El Dorado to start his own business. He arrived during a period of considerable growth and development in El Dorado, which was largely in response to the discovery of oil and gas nearby. Gish selected a site along US Highway 77 near the junction of US Highway 54 in downtown El Dorado to house his new building. It was completed in 1917. His veterinary office was located on the second floor along with several apartments. He leased commercial space on the first floor, which was occupied by various auto-related businesses over the years. Gish operated his veterinary practice out of this building until his retirement in 1960, and he lived there with his family until his death in 1969. His son John Gish joined the business in 1941, and began his own practice when Amos retired. Today, the business is known as the El Dorado Animal Clinic. The building was nominated for its local significance in the area of commerce.



Hazlett, Robert H., House

Picture of property 115 S Washington
El Dorado (Butler County)
Listed in State Register 1986-05-10

Architect: Robert & Isabella Hazlett
Category: single dwelling



James, C.N., Cabin

Picture of property 305 State St
Augusta (Butler County)
Listed in National Register 1973-04-13

Architect: unknown
Category: specialty store; single dwelling; school; religious facility



Little Walnut River Pratt Truss Bridge

Picture of property SW 160th Rd., 0.5 mi. W of int. with Purity Springs Rd.
Bois D'Arc (Butler County)
Listed in National Register 2003-05-09

Architect: Kansas City Bridge & Iron Company
Category: road-related



Loomis-Parry Residence

Picture of property 1003 State St
Augusta (Butler County)
Listed in National Register 2009-07-08

Architect: Unknown
Category: secondary structure; single dwelling

Built in 1917, the Loomis-Parry Residence is located north of downtown Augusta in a neighborhood of large late 19th- and early 20th-century single-family residences. Widower Henrietta Loomis commissioned the construction of the house for herself and her daughter Grace. The Loomis family, traditionally farmers, owned land in Butler County where oil was discovered in the early 1900s. Income generated from the oil financed the construction of this residence in Augusta. No reference to the architect or builder has been found in local histories, newspapers, or family documents. Nevertheless, the house's architecture features a distinct combination of several popular early 20th century styles including Craftsman, Tudor Revival, and Classical Revival. It has remained in the same family since 1917, and is nominated for its architecture.



Moyle, John, Building

Picture of property 605 & 607 N State Street
Augusta (Butler County)
Listed in National Register 2014-06-27

Architect: Switzer, Joseph
Category: hotel

The three-story Moyle building was completed in 1918 to house retail spaces and a hotel. The building was constructed during a time of rapid growth and development in Augusta, largely in response to the booming oil and gas industry in surrounding Butler County. Local oilman John Moyle served as secretary of Augusta's Commercial Club during this period and was president of the local Chamber of Commerce when he set into motion plans for the construction of this building in the downtown. Moyle hired Joseph R. Switzer to design and oversee the building’s construction by contractor A. H. Krause. The building originally was used as a hotel, with the office and other retail spaces occupying the first floor. Guest rooms occupied the second and third floors. The hotel does not appear to have been overly ornate or outfitted with the latest technological accommodations. Rather, it appears to have been a well-built, modest hotel with 32 small, individual rooms for guests. Though private, these rooms did not have kitchen or bath facilities or any built-in features. The shared bathrooms were located at the west end of each floor. It was nominated for its local significance in the area of commerce.



Muddy Creek Bridge

Picture of property off US-77, Douglass vicinity
Douglass (Butler County)
Listed in National Register 1985-07-02

Architect: R. R. Green
Category: road-related



1 | 2 | 3

New Search