Jump to Navigation

National and State Registers of Historic Places

Results of Query:

County: Crawford
Records: All Properties

New Search

Page 2 of 3 showing 10 records of 23 total, starting on record 11
1 | 2 | 3


Hotel Stilwell

Picture of property 707 Broadway
Pittsburg (Crawford County)
Listed in National Register 1980-04-30

Architect: JB Lindsly & Son
Category: hotel



Hudgeon Bridge

Picture of property 10 miles south and 3.2 miles west of Girard
Girard (Crawford County)
Listed in National Register 1985-07-02

Architect: Topeka Bridge and Construction Company
Category: road-related



Leonard, J.T. & Anna, House

Picture of property 211 N Summit Street
Girard (Crawford County)
Listed in National Register 2017-01-11

Architect: Unknown
Category: single dwelling

Built between 1907 and 1908 for one of Girard’s leading families, the J.T. & Anna Leonard House is significant for its architecture. The house was designed in a late version of the Free Classic Queen Anne style, a building type not widely utilized in Girard. Queen Anne was the most popular house style from around 1880 to 1910, but this house is more restrained than earlier interpretations of the style. The largest house ever built in Girard, the Leonard House served as boarding house, a funeral home, and an inn before again becoming a single-family residence.



Little Walnut Creek Bowstring Bridge

Picture of property 3 miles NE of Walnut
Walnut (Crawford County)
Listed in National Register 1990-01-04

Architect: King Iron Bridge Company
Category: road-related



Pittsburg Public Library

Picture of property 308 N Walnut St
Pittsburg (Crawford County)
Listed in National Register 1977-11-09

Architect: Normand Patton & Grant Miller
Category: library



Raymond, J.E., House

Picture of property 301 S. Osage Street
Girard (Crawford County)
Listed in National Register 2007-04-03

Architect: Not listed
Category: single dwelling; clubhouse; meeting hall



S-W Supply Company

Picture of property 215 E Prairie
Girard (Crawford County)
Listed in National Register 2009-05-21

Architect: unknown
Category: secondary structure; manufacturing facility

The S-W Supply Company property is located southeast of Girard's courthouse square in an area that transitions from commercial to residential. Local entrepreneur Marion Slawson, whose career spanned many fields including law, farming, and public service, founded the company in 1923 to manufacture his stamped-metal grave marker. S-W stood for Slawson-Wilson, his last name and his wife's maiden name. During its first years in business, the fledgling company operated out of the wood-frame barn behind the Slawson home. By 1926, the company was producing enough grave markers to merit the construction of a new building, and by 1933, the company's annual sales reached $35,000 and employed 11 people. The nominated property includes three buildings: a 1926 two-story main brick building with stepped parapet and monitor roof, a circa 1905 one-and-a-half-story gabled wood-frame barn, and a circa 1925 one-story garage. It was nominated for its association with local industry.



St. Aloysius Catholic Church (Old)

Picture of property NE 1/4, NW 1/4, S22, Ts9S, R22E
Greenbush (Crawford County)
Listed in State Register 1994-02-26

Architect: Owen McMahan; Fr. Van der Hagen
Category: religious facility



St. John's Episcopal Church

Picture of property SE Corner of Buffalo and Summit
Girard (Crawford County)
Listed in National Register 2009-04-22

Architect: unknown
Category: religious facility

Girard Episcopalians first met on March 19, 1870 to organize a local Episcopal church. By the mid-1880s, the parish had raised enough money to construct a permanent church building. They purchased 2,100 pounds of stone from a quarry southwest of town and finished construction in 1888 for a total cost of $4,230.16. When the church disbanded in the 1970s, the Museum of Crawford County purchased it to house its collections. The Gothic Revival-style building is situated near downtown at the southwest corner of Buffalo and Summit Streets. It features a steeply pitched gabled roof, rough-cut limestone walls, pointed-arch openings, faux buttresses, and original stained glass windows. The building was nominated for its Gothic Revival architecture.



State Bank of Girard

Picture of property 105 E. Prairie
Girard (Crawford County)
Listed in National Register 2009-08-07

Architect: unknown
Category: financial institution

Crawford County pioneer attorney and banker Franklin Playter built this building in 1873. The Julius family owned the bank from the mid-1880s until 1925 when it was sold to the Crawford County Bank. When the bank's president, Henry Haldeman, died in 1905, his wife Sarah Addams Haldeman assumed responsibility of the bank becoming the first woman bank president in the state. The bank failed in the Great Depression and the building was converted to offices. The building reflects two distinct architectural styles - an Italianate second floor dating from the building's original construction, and Neoclassical first floor dating to circa 1915. The building was nominated for its association with local banking history, with Playter, and the Haldeman and Julius families.



1 | 2 | 3

New Search