Jump to Navigation

National and State Registers of Historic Places

Results of Query:

County: Greenwood
Records: All Properties

New Search

Page 2 of 2 showing 6 records of 16 total, starting on record 11
1 | 2


Paul Jones Building

Picture of property 319 W. River Street
Eureka (Greenwood County)
Listed in National Register 2012-05-01

Architect: unknown
Category: specialty store

Built in 1946, the Paul Jones Building is located along the south side of Highway 54 / West River Street and is adjacent to the Westside Service Station and Riverside Motel, which marks the west edge of Eureka's roadside commercial district. Eureka businessman Paul Jones built this building to house his Dodge and Plymouth showroom. It reflected characteristics similar to other contemporary roadside dealerships, with its streamlined design, curved forms, barrel vaulted truss system, and large showroom windows. The showroom wasn't especially glamorous, and there was a clear emphasis placed on service. The building included a "wash and lubrication" garage in addition to a large service area at the rear. Additionally, Jones participated in the development and promotion of Highway 54 through Eureka, and just three weeks before his unexpected death in 1956 was elected president of the National Highway 54 Association. The business closed after Jones' death, and in subsequent years several auto-related repair shops operated out of the building. The building was nominated for its local significance in the areas of commerce and architecture.



Robertson House

Picture of property 403 N. Plum
Eureka (Greenwood County)
Listed in National Register 2011-02-07

Architect: Not listed
Category: single dwelling

The history of the Robertson House parallels the rise and fall of the Kansas oil industry. The home's eclectic Prairie-style design, unique in Kansas, reflected the owner's financial success. When he built the home in 1923, oil drill contractor Russell Roy Robertson likely believed that oil prices would remain steady. For the first time, oil workers, who had lived in temporary company towns, began to take permanent residence in oil towns like Eureka. In the words of historian Craig Miner, "Oil had become respectable during the 1920s." The Robertson House likely seemed affordable to oil contractor Roy Clair Patton, who bought the property from Robertson at the dawn of the Great Depression. But when drillers flooded the market, oil prices plunged and yields fell, those who made their living drilling oil wells could no longer afford it. By 1933, the price of oil had tanked to just 66 cents and the house was sold at sheriff's sale. The property was nominated for its association with the local oil industry and for its eclectic Prairie and Mission styles.



Two Duck Archeological Site

Picture of property Address Restricted
Severy (Greenwood County)
Listed in National Register 1975-03-26

Architect: Not listed
Category: archaeological site; village site



Upper Fall River Evangelical Lutheran Church

Picture of property 9 miles northwest of Eureka
Eureka vicinity (Greenwood County)
Listed in State Register 2000-12-11

Architect: Not listed
Category: religious facility



Verdigris River Bridge

Picture of property .5 miles north of Madison
Madison (Greenwood County)
Listed in National Register 1985-07-02

Architect: Not listed
Category: road-related



Westside Service Station and Riverside Motel

Picture of property 325 W River Street
Eureka (Greenwood County)
Listed in National Register 2012-05-01

Architect: L. Ryther & G. Handley, builders, motel bldgs
Category: restaurant; specialty store; hotel

The Westside Service Station and Riverside Motel is located on the south side of Highway 54 / River Street just east of the bridge spanning Fall River in Eureka. It marks the west edge of Eureka's mid-20th century roadside commercial district along Highway 54. The property was developed over several years beginning in 1939 when D. R. Parks purchased the property and constructed a combination service station and cafe building and three sleeping cabins with attached carports. These wood-frame buildings were faced with limestone reflecting a common regional architectural style known as Ozark Giraffe, an early 20th century version of the cobblestone house-building tradition. Frank "Benny" Lore, Jr. and his wife Lois purchased the property in 1951 and soon added two one-story Ranch-style buildings behind the cafe and service station. They operated the business for over 50 years. The small cabins were demolished in 2011, but the remaining buildings were rehabilitated and once again function as a café and motel. The property was nominated for its architecture and commercial history.



1 | 2

New Search