Jump to Navigation

National and State Registers of Historic Places

Results of Query:

County: Marshall
Records: All Properties

New Search

Page 2 of 3 showing 10 records of 22 total, starting on record 11
1 | 2 | 3


Marysville Union Pacific Depot

Picture of property Hedrix Avenue
Marysville (Marshall County)
Listed in National Register 2016-10-11

Architect: Underwood, Gilbert Stanley
Category: rail-related

Designed by California architect Gilbert Stanley Underwood, Marysville’s Union Pacific Railroad Depot (1928-1929) is located adjacent to the former railyards on 7th Street, two blocks north of the downtown business district. The asymmetrical stucco, brick, and terra cotta building is of the Spanish Revival style. The single story steel-framed building stands on a reinforced concrete foundation and is roofed with red clay tiles. The depot is significant for its historic association with the growth and development of Marysville, Kansas, and as an excellent example of a Spanish Revival passenger depot. Regular passenger service was suspended in 1955, after which time the building continued to house offices for the railroad. The Union Pacific Railroad declared the depot surplus property, intending to demolish it. In 2015 a joint effort between the City of Marysville and the Union Pacific Depot Preservation Society saved it from demolition, and work commenced to restore the building and make it a community asset.



Moore (Z.H.) Store

Picture of property NE Corner State & Center Streets
Oketo (Marshall County)
Listed in National Register 1976-06-24

Architect: Not listed
Category: business



Old Frankfort City Jail

Picture of property Railway Avenue
Frankfort (Marshall County)
Listed in National Register 1982-11-01

Architect: Not listed
Category: correctional facility



Oregon and California Trail - Pacha Ruts

Picture of property Address Restricted
Bremen vicinity (Marshall County)
Listed in National Register 2014-01-08

Architect: N/A
Category: transportation

The Pacha Ruts were nominated for their association with transportation and exploration/settlement along the combined route of the Oregon and California trails and for their association with the Pony Express. This trail remnant is located in Marshall County on the western end of an approximate 133-mile branch known as the St. Joe Road, a connector route between St. Joseph, Missouri and the Independence Road. Active between 1844 and circa 1860, the St. Joe Road joined the Independence Road approximately 1.5 miles northwest of this nominated site. This route was mainly utilized by emigrants from the St. Joseph and Weston, Missouri areas. The trail remnants at this site were also used by the Pony Express riders in 1861 as they made their way to Hollenberg Station in present-day Washington County.



Pony Express Barn

Picture of property 108 South Eighth
Marysville (Marshall County)
Listed in National Register 1973-04-02

Architect: Not listed
Category: animal facility; communications facility



Powell, S.T., House

Picture of property 108 West Commercial
Waterville (Marshall County)
Listed in National Register 1972-12-27

Architect: Not listed
Category: single dwelling



Pusch-Randell House

Picture of property 1000 Elm Street
Marysville (Marshall County)
Listed in National Register 1986-09-22

Architect: Not listed
Category: secondary structure; single dwelling



Robidoux Creek Pratt Truss Bridge

Picture of property Sunflower Rd., 0.8 mi. W of jct. with 21st Rd., NW of Frankfort
Frankfort Vicinity (Marshall County)
Listed in National Register 2003-05-22

Architect: Not listed
Category: road-related



St. Bridget Church

Picture of property RR 2, 6.5 miles North of Axtell, St. Bridget Township, Axtell vicinity
Axtell (Marshall County)
Listed in National Register 1996-09-12

Architect: Not listed
Category: religious facility



Transue Brothers Blacksmith & Wagon Shop

Picture of property 309 Main Street
Summerfield (Marshall County)
Listed in National Register 2009-12-30

Architect: Transue Brothers, Harry Sellers, local mason
Category: specialty store

Located at the north end of Main Street in Summerfield is the Transue Brothers Blacksmith & Wagon Shop, which traces its roots to 1889 when blacksmith Thomas Hutton first opened a shop at that location. He sold the business in 1893 to brothers James and George Transue, who erected this fireproof limestone and brick building in 1898. The Transue brothers provided a variety of services to the community that included horseshoeing, building and repairing wagons and sleighs, and iron fabrication. Their business and the buildings out of which they operated adapted to changes in technology and to meet consumers' needs. The early twentieth-century shift away from horse-drawn wagons toward automobiles is evident within the farrier's shop where the brothers converted the shop into an auto repair garage by digging a pit in the floor over which cars could be parked for repair to the undercarriage. The nominated property includes three functionally related buildings that were erected between 1898 and 1911: the blacksmith and wagon shop, the farrier's shop, and the coal shed. They were nominated for their association with local commercial history and their architecture.



1 | 2 | 3

New Search