Jump to Navigation

National and State Registers of Historic Places

Results of Query:

County: Sedgwick
Records: All Properties

New Search

Page 4 of 14 showing 10 records of 140 total, starting on record 31
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9


Colorado-Derby Building

Picture of property 201 N. Water St.
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in State Register 2015-11-07

Architect: William I. Fisher
Category: business; commerce

Constructed in 1959-1960, the nine-story Colorado-Derby Building is an early example of a Modern Movement speculative office tower erected within a pattern of development that shaped Wichita's downtown at midcentury. New buildings erected as icons on the skyline were intended to refresh, modernize, and revitalize the downtown core through public and private investment in civic and commercial improvements. Frank and Harvey Ablah recognized the onset of this trend and constructed the Colorado-Derby Building to provide speculative office space, redeveloping the site of the Ablah Hotel Supply Company. Named for its largest and most prominent tenant, the Colorado-Derby Building was fully occupied when it opened in 1960 and maintained high occupancy rates over the following decade. The construction and subsequent occupancy of this building illustrates the continuing importance of manufacturing industries to the economy of Wichita at midcentury and the ability of these industries to contribute to the economic and physical revitalization of downtown. The blocks immediately surrounding the building continued to develop in a similar fashion over the following decade with large-scale modern buildings and parking lots replacing smaller commercial and industrial buildings built a half-century earlier. All of this development activity culminated in a formal Urban Renewal project utilizing federal funds in the late 1960s. In Wichita, private investment focused on providing office space for industrial companies, rather than public funding initiated the revitalization that transformed downtown. The Colorado-Derby Building is an important early example of this private investment trend.



Comley House

Picture of property 1137 N Broadway
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register 2006-11-01

Architect: Not listed
Category: single dwelling

The Comley House (ca 1899) and its 1914 carriage house were constructed for Henry Comley, a Wichita lumberman. The two-and-a-half story, wood-frame house is being nominated for its depiction of the Queen Anne style and also for its association with Henry Comley. The Comley Lumber Company operated from 1913 until 1973 having served both commercial and residential communities through three generations.



Commodore Apartment Hotel

Picture of property 222 E Elm Street / 601 N Broadway Avenue
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register 2013-05-01

Architect: Peters, Nelle Elizabeth
Category: hotel; multiple dwelling

The Commodore Apartment Hotel is located at the north end of Wichita's downtown commercial district. The rapid development of multiple-family housing in Wichita was essential in the 1920s, when the city's population nearly doubled. Local leaders attracted the attention of the Hurley-Park Investment Company of Tulsa, a partnership of Secretary of War Patrick J. Hurley and builder and realtor Robert R. Park. Soon Hurley-Park, which was simultaneously developing Tulsa's Ambassador Hotel, was making plans to build the Commodore Apartment Hotel. They hired Kansas City-based architect Nelle Elizabeth Peters, who specialized in apartment buildings and hotels, to design the Commodore Hotel. It was completed and opened in 1929. At nine stories, it is the tallest building in this part of downtown and is constructed of reinforced concrete with brick and terra cotta detailing reflecting the Spanish Colonial Revival style. The building is identified by a prominent rooftop sign that reads "COMMODORE." The building was nominated as part of the "Residential Resources of Wichita" multiple property nomination for its local significance in the area of architecture.



Cudahy Packing Plant

Picture of property 2300 N Broadway Street
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register 2012-09-17

Architect: Undetermined
Category: processing

Wichita's former Cudahy Packing Plant was originally developed in 1888 by Francis Whittaker and Sons of St. Louis, and was one of the city's earliest large-scale meat-packing facilities. When it opened in 1889, the Wichita Eagle describe the plant as consisting of "six large buildings and yards capable of holding 4,000 head of stock" with a "force of 200 men." Whittaker struggled to sustain the property, particularly as the nation sunk into an economic depression in 1893. John Cudahy of Louisville purchased the plant in 1900 and then sold it to the Cudahy Packing Company, which originated in Milwaukee where Irish-born brothers Michael, Patrick, and John Cudahy met Philip Armour and learned the meat-packing business. Throughout the company's 71 years at this property, it primarily processed, refined, and packaged beef and pork. The complex today features both brick and reinforced concrete buildings whose functional designs were driven by national trends in factory production including concern for fire safety, increases in mechanization, and the need to maximize light and ventilation. It is nominated for its local significance in the areas of commerce, industry, and architecture.



Derby Public School - District 6

Picture of property 716 E. Market Street
Derby (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register 2014-10-08

Architect: Voigt, Samuel Siegfried
Category: education related

The Derby Public School building, built in 1923, served as the community's one public school building for much of the early 20th century. Wichita architect Samuel Siegfried (S.S.) Voigt designed the building, and it was constructed by the Wichita Construction Company. The two-story, red-brick building faces west and exhibits elements of the Commercial and Collegiate Gothic architectural styles. An addition was constructed in 1952 to accommodate a wave of new students whose parents worked for the growing air industry in nearby Wichita. The building functioned as a school until 1996. At the time of nomination, the building is owned by the Derby Historical Society and houses the Derby Historical Museum. It was nominated for its local significance in the area of education.



Dunbar Theatre

Picture of property 1007 N. Cleveland
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register 2008-07-02

Architect: Harmon, Raymond M.
Category: vacant/not in use; theater

The Dunbar Theatre was built in 1941 during a time in movie theater history when theater owners were moving away from downtowns and into outlying neighborhoods. The theater's history is linked to that of the surrounding McAdams neighborhood, a traditionally African-American area northeast of downtown Wichita. The building is nominated for its association with the performing arts and social history of Wichita's McAdams Neighborhood and for its architectural significance as an example of modern theater design.



E.S. Cowie Electric Co. Buildings

Picture of property 222-232 S. Topeka Ave.
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in State Register 2017-08-12

Architect: Unknown
Category: commerce

The E.S. Cowie Electric Company was established in 1900 in Kansas City, Missouri, and expanded to Wichita in 1916. The Wichita store moved three times in the first fifteen years of business before settling in the 200 block of S. Topeka in 1931. By the time it moved to the S. Topeka location the company was firmly established as one of the largest automotive electric suppliers in the Midwest and Southwest. These buildings are significant for their reflection of the pioneering and enduring role in the automotive industry in Wichita and surrounding states. The Cowie firm was known for its business acumen and fidelity to servicing customer needs with a well-trained expert team. The company created life-long relationships with manufacturers and customers. When the founder E.S. Cowie died in 1951, his hand-picked protégé, Lee Thorn, who had managed the Wichita store for 25 years, became president of the company and the headquarters moved to Wichita. Cowie Electric Company transferred to the Thorn family in 1959, ending the Cowie family’s ownership of the business.



Eagle's Lodge #132

Picture of property 200-202 S. Emporia
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register 2008-01-31

Architect: William Mampe
Category: vacant/not in use; meeting hall

Eagle's Lodge #132 was constructed in 1916, in the Beaux Arts architectural style. It originally housed a grocery store and the Eagle's Fraternal Lodge. A 1921 addition was built to house a mortuary. The Flanagan-Bourman Funeral Home occupied the first floor of the addition, where they continued the business until 1986. The building was nominated for its association with the Eagle's Lodge, as an example of an historic mortuary, and for its Beaux Arts architecture.



East Douglas Avenue Historic District

Picture of property Roughly bounded by Topeka, Rock Island, 1st, and English Sts
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register 2004-08-04

Architect: Louis Curtiss; J.T. Long
Category: hotel

The East Douglas Avenue Historic District is located in downtown Wichita and consists of forty-four historic resources. Originally developed through the efforts of William Greiffenstein, one the most prominent members of early Wichita society, Douglas Avenue became the center of commercial activity in historic Wichita. Many of the buildings in this district are individually significant for their association with historic commerce and/or rail transportation. One such building is Union Station. Built in 1914, Union Station was designed by Louis S. Curtiss in the Beaux Arts Style. It is one of only two remaining depots on East Douglas.



Ellington Apartment Building

Picture of property 514 S Main Street
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register 2013-06-25

Architect: Street, Walter V.
Category: multiple dwelling

Wichita developer and contractor John Wenzel built the Ellington Apartment Building at the height of an apartment construction boom in 1927. Architect Walter V. Street designed this two-story brick building, which exhibits restrained elements of the Neoclassical style. Located just five blocks south of Douglas Avenue, a main thoroughfare through Wichita's central business district, the building featured 20 units each with private bath and kitchen amenities. Tenants generally included a mix of couples and singles, with single women generally outnumbering single men. It was nominated as part of the "Residential Resources of Wichita" multiple property nomination for its local significance in the areas of architecture and its association with community planning and development. Building was demolished in 2016 and its delisting is pending.



1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9

New Search