Jump to Navigation

National and State Registers of Historic Places

Results of Query:

County: Lyon
Records: All Properties

New Search

Page 1 of 2 showing 10 records of 19 total, starting on record 1
1 | 2


Cross, Colonel H. C. and Susan, House

Picture of property 526 Union Street
Emporia (Lyon County)
Listed in National Register 2011-08-04

Architect: Squires, Charles W.
Category: multiple dwelling; single dwelling; hospital

Civil War veteran and banker Harrison Cory (H. C.) Cross hired Emporia-based architect Charles W. Squires to design this high-style Queen Anne Free Classic residence. The house has an irregular hipped roof with lower cross gables, is clad with weatherboard and patterned shingles, a dominant round tower, classical porch columns, and a porte cochere. It was completed in 1894, just months before Cross' untimely death, which led to the public revelation of his massive debt and the subsequent collapse of the First National Bank that he had organized with four others. His son Charles was left to handle much of this financial burden, which pushed him to suicide in 1898. The residence remained with H.C.'s widow Susan until her death in 1902. The house transitioned through several different owners including Dr. William Meffert, who purchased the house in 1909 to use as a private sanitarium, the Phi Sigma Epsilon fraternity, which used the residence as their first fraternity house, and later Scott Mouse who operated a hotel in the house. Today, it is privately owned and is undergoing rehabilitation. The house was nominated for its social history and architectural significance.



Emporia Downtown Historic District

Picture of property Downtown Core - see nomination
Emporia (Lyon County)
Listed in National Register 2012-05-02

Architect: Multiple
Category: commercial district; domestic; school; government office; manufacturing facility; theater; religious facility; meeting hall; road-related; business

The Emporia Downtown Historic District includes 169 buildings spanning approximately 18 city blocks in the heart of Emporia's central business district. In addition to traditional commercial blocks, the district includes a number of stand-alone buildings including post office buildings, churches, schools, banks, and county government facilities. Together, they interpret the community's development over a period of nearly 150 years. Emporia was founded in 1857, and the downtown was already showing signs of permanency in the late 1860s, by which time two- and three-story masonry Italianate buildings had already been built. The downtown expanded outward from its historic center at 6th and Commercial, the location of the town's original building. Although some of the downtown buildings still represent their original appearance to a degree, most were modified over time. The district is nominated for its commercial history and its architecture.



Emporia Public Library (Old)

Picture of property 118 East Sixth
Emporia (Lyon County)
Listed in National Register 1981-11-02

Architect: VanBrunt and Howe
Category: library



Finney, Warren Wesley, House

Picture of property 927 State Street
Emporia (Lyon County)
Listed in National Register 1992-05-07

Architect: Not listed
Category: single dwelling



Gilchrist, M.W., House

Picture of property 1101 South Avenue
Emporia (Lyon County)
Listed in State Register 2011-11-19

Architect: Holmes, J.H.
Category: domestic

Marlin W. and Jane Gilchrist developed this property into a small suburban farmstead of 43-acres in 1876, and a residence, barn, and two wells were completed by the end of the summer. In partnership with his brothers William and John, M. W. Gilchrist owned and operated both the Metropolitan Stable and Gilchrist and Brothers Lumber Yard in Emporia. Gilchrist sold the house in 1883, and in subsequent years, the land was subdivided and developed. The property has been the home to several locally well-known Emporia figures through the years including Gilchrist, cattleman Sylvan Nation, and railroad businessman Roy Kramm and his wife Lura, an accomplished gardener. The Kramms were responsible for several modifications to the landscape in the 1930s including stone entrance piers, an outdoor stone fireplace and picnic tables, and a concrete fishpond. The two-story residence features a cross-gabled plan with Folk Victorian architectural influences. Metal siding was recently removed from the exterior of the house, and it is currently being rehabilitated. The property is nominated for its social history and architecture.



Granada Theater

Picture of property 809 Commercial
Emporia (Lyon County)
Listed in National Register 1985-04-04

Architect: Boller Brothers
Category: theater



Harris Bridge

Picture of property 3 miles north and 4 miles west of Americus
Americus (Lyon County)
Listed in National Register 1985-07-02

Architect: Not listed
Category: road-related



Harris-Borman House

Picture of property 827 Mechanic
Emporia (Lyon County)
Listed in National Register 1992-04-28

Architect: Not listed
Category: single dwelling



Hartford Collegiate Institute

Picture of property
Hartford (Lyon County)
Listed in National Register 1972-02-23

Architect: Not listed
Category: school; church school



Hotel Broadview

Picture of property 110 W 6th Ave
Emporia (Lyon County)
Listed in State Register 2008-11-22

Architect: Siedhoff, George (builder)
Category: restaurant; specialty store; hotel; multiple dwelling

This seven-story Commercial-style structure was built in 1923 after a fire devastated the city's oldest and largest hotel in 1921. Eager to replace the old Hotel Whitely, community leaders quickly formed the Emporia Hotel Corporation, which sold shares of stock to Emporia citizens. The corporation contracted with Wichita developer George Siedhoff to construct the Broadview. Through the 1920s the hotel hosted many conventions, including the statewide Ku Klux Klan convention in 1924, which drew the ire of many influential locals including William Allen White. The building served as a hotel until 1964 when it was remodeled into a men's dormitory for the College of Emporia. It was again remodeled for senior housing in 1974. Current plans call for rehabilitating the property for continued use as senior housing. The property was listed for its association with local commercial history.



1 | 2

New Search