Jump to Navigation

National and State Registers of Historic Places

Results of Query:

County: Wallace
Records: All Properties

New Search

Page 1 of 1 showing 3 records of 3 total, starting on record 1


Clark-Robidoux House

Picture of property 4th Street
Wallace (Wallace County)
Listed in National Register 2001-04-25

Architect: Not listed
Category: single dwelling

Constructed in 1880 for Harding Allen Clark, the Clark-Robidoux House is an example of Gothic Revival architecture with its steeply pitched and symmetrical gables. Clark, after establishing himself as a local businessman and rancher, assisted in the development of Goodland. He served Wallace in the 1895 State Legislature. Clark sold the house in 1905 and by 1909, rancher and businessman Peter Robidoux had purchased the property. Robidoux settled in Wallace about the same time as Clark and operated a drug store and post office. In 1907, he helped establish the Wallace County State Bank that later consolidated with Peoples State Bank in Sharon Springs. The house was nominated for its association with the development of Wallace, with Clark and Robidoux, and for its architecture.



Goose Creek Tipi Ring Site

Picture of property Address Restricted
Weskan (Wallace County)
Listed in National Register 1978-11-21

Architect: Not listed
Category: archaeological site



Pond Creek Stage Station

Picture of property roadside park on US40
Wallace (Wallace County)
Listed in National Register 1972-02-23

Architect: Not listed
Category: specialty store; road-related; storage

Situated at the Fort Wallace Memorial Park, Pond Creek Station has been utilized in many ways. The two-story frame structure, with board-and-batten siding and gable roof, was constructed in 1865 as a home station for the Butterfield Overland Dispatch. It was the stage tender's quarters and eating station for travelers along what was known as the Smoky Hill route. After the completion of the Union Pacific railroad in 1870, the station was no longer needed. Thomas Madigan acquired the building in 1871 and moved it to the town of Wallace where it was used as his home and merchandise store. In 1898, the family relocated it to their ranch north of Wallace where they used it for grain storage. In 1960, the family donated it to the Fort Wallace Memorial Association, and it was moved to the Fort Wallace Memorial Park, which is just one-half mile from the building's original site.



New Search