Jump to Navigation

Alfred M. Landon Grant past recipients

The Alfred M. Landon Historical Research Grant is presented annually to graduate students for research in the collections of the Kansas Historical Society. more

2012 - Cherie L. Weible - Literacy and Libraries on the American Frontier

2012 - Jeff Wells - Editors and Publishers of the Farmers Alliance and People's Party

2012 - Adrienne Dunn - Exploring Female Exodusters in Kansas

2011 - Mary Peterson Zundo - The View From Above: Picturing the Kansas Prairie Empire, 1854-1880

2010 - Kevin Hoskins - The Populist Reaction to the Cuba Revolution and the Spanish-American War

2009 - Cara Burnidge - Charles Sheldon in Kansas Politics and Society

2009 - David D. Vail - Kill That Thistle: Rogue Sprayers, Bootlegged Chemicals, and the Kansas Chemical Laws, 1950-1980

2008 - Brie Swenson Arnold - Competition for the Virgin Soil of Kansas:  Gender and Northern Political Culture in the Move Toward Civil War

2008 - Kristen K. Epps Masters and Slaves on the Kansas-Missouri Border, 1854-1865

2007 - Erin Brown - Late 19th & early 20th century development of former cattle towns, Abilene, Dodge City and Wichita, Kansas”

2006 - Luke C. Ryan The Indians Would Be Too Near Us’: Paths of Disunion in the Making of Kansas, 1825-1861

2005 - Robin Hanson - Examining the involuntary displacement of the small rural communities of Broughton and Irving, Kansas and the subsequent continuation of a community identity

2004 - Julie Courtwright - project - An Environmental and Cultural History of Prairie Fire on the Great Plains

2004 - Luke C. Ryan - project - The Indians Would Be Too Near Us': Paths of Disunion in the Making of Kansas, 1825-1861

2003 - Lisa Anderson, project - politics of Prohibition, 1869-1933

2003 - Susan de Weese, project - Woman's Relief Corps in Gilded Age America

1999 - Kathleen Du Val, project - Indian-White Dipolmacy in Kansas, and Shelly Berger, project Hallman Archeological Site

1997 - Kent A. Cutis and Dale E. Nimz, Lawrence; Thomas M. Slopnick, Willington, Connecticut

1995 - Joseph W. Creech, Jr., Notre Dame University

1995 - Robert K Irvine, Kansas State University

1995 - Joanne E. Passet, University of Wisconsin

1995 - Rusty L. Monhollon, University of Kansas