Jump to Navigation

National History Day 2002 Results

National History Day Logo

2002 Kansas Medalists

Gold Medal

Bailey Gray, Amber Comstock, and Lauren Troutman, Fort Scott Middle School, Fort Scott

Junior Group Exhibit - "Nuclear Fashion"

Teacher - Michelle Brittain

Received - $1000


Kayla Westfahl, Haven Middle School, Haven

Junior Individual Exhibit - "Out of Dust"

Teacher - Chris Terrill

Received - $1000


Bronze Medal

Daldorph and Greenwell with teacher, Dari Hilbert, 3rd place, Jr. group performanceBrenna Daldorph and Mulligan Greenwell, Central Junior High, Lawrence

Junior Group Performance - "Out of the Ashes: Tragedy at the Triangle Shirtwaist Factory"

Teacher - Dari Hilbert

Received - $250







National History Day 2002 Kansas Special Honors

Outstanding State Entry

Chase Hamilton and Davis Wittig, Topeka Collegiate, Topeka

Junior Group Performance - "Charles Darwin: Revolutionary Biologist"

Teacher - Laura Straus


Megan Stewart, Candace Lowry, Elizabeth Cambers, and Megan Mann, Uniontown High School, Uniontown

Senior Group Performance - "A Revolution Caused by a Poet With a Camera"

Teacher - Norman Conard


Other Kansas 2002 Finalists


Hamsa Subramaniam, Lawrence High School, Lawrence

Senior Individual Performance - "Emma Goldman: Dreamer, Artist, Iconoclast"

Teacher - Mike Ortmann


Jeremy Pukach, Seaman High School, Topeka

Senior Individual Exhibit - "The Two Iron Monsters"

Teacher - Susan Sittenauer