Jump to Navigation

Records from Wilson County

Creator: Wilson County (Kan.)

Date: 1864 - 1977

Level of Description: Coll./Record Group

Material Type: Government record

Call Number: Unavailable

Unit ID: 216788

Abstract: The State Archives holds few records from Wilson County, and almost all of them are from the District and Probate Courts. The District Court records are concerned with criminal, civil, and traffic cases and date from the 1960s and 1970s. The Probate records, on microfilm, are concerned with marriages, wills, and the daily proceedings of the Probate Court and span the 1860s to 1920. There is also a set of municipal ordinances for Fredonia from 1928.

Space Required/Quantity: Microfilm ; 35mm + 7 volumes.

Title (Main title): Records from Wilson County

Administrative History

Administrative History: When originally created, Wilson County was within the Osage Reserve and not open to Euro-American settlement. However, settlers began arriving as early as 1857. No attempt was made to organize the county until 1864, when an ambitious New Yorker named Daniel C. Finn arrived in the region and began agitating the question. On 9 September 1864, Finn presented a petition for organization to the governor, who appointed the first slate of county officers. Several of those appointed failed to qualify, and the first meeting of the county commissioners did not take place until January 1867. The question of a county seat caused eight elections between 1867 and 1873; Coy's Store [Coyville], Kalida [Clifton], Twin Mounds [Fredonia], Neodesha, and Center each won at least one election. The matter was finally settled in Fredonia's favor.

Wilson County, as originally laid out, was twenty-four miles square along the southeastern boundary of the state. Later the legislature expanded the county 26 miles northward to its present northern line; in 1867, the southern half was carved off to form Montgomery County.

The county was named for Colonel Hiero T. Wilson (1806-1892), a sutler and postmaster from Fort Scott in Bourbon County, Kansas. Fredonia continues to be the county seat, and Neodesha is the other city in Wilson County. Townships include Cedar, Center, Chetopa, Clifton, Colfax, Duck Creek, Fall River, Guilford, Neodesha, Newark, Pleasant Valley, Prairie, Talleyrand, Verdigris, and Webster Township.

[Kansas State Historical Society. "Kansas Counties -- Wilson County, Kansas." http://www.kshs.org/genealogists/places/counties.php?county=WL (accessed 11 June 2009).]


No Locators Identified

Index Terms


    Wilson County (Kan.) -- Genealogy
    Wilson County (Kan.) -- History
    District courts -- Kansas -- Wilson County
    Marriage records -- Kansas -- Wilson County
    Ordinances, Municipal -- Kansas -- Fredonia
    Probate courts -- Kansas -- Wilson County
    Wills -- Kansas -- Wilson County

Creators and Contributors

Agency Classification:

    Local Government Agencies. Wilson County.