Jump to Navigation

Records from Rice County

Creator: Rice County (Kan.)

Date: 1875 - 1940

Level of Description: Coll./Record Group

Material Type: Government record

Call Number: Unavailable

Unit ID: 216791

Abstract: Records from Rice County, Kansas found at the Kansas State Archives include probate court case files and district court records mostly concerning individuals' steps in becoming naturalized United States citizens. These records are all on microfilm.

Space Required/Quantity: Microfilm.

Title (Main title): Records from Rice County

Administrative History

Administrative History: Rice is one of the central counties of Kansas. It was created by the Legislature of 1867 and was organized August 18, 1871. The county was named in honor of Samuel A. Rice, Brigadier General with the U.S. Volunteers, who was killed at Jenkins Ferry, Ark., April 30, 1864.

Lyons is the county seat, and Sterling is another small city in Rice County. The townships include Atlanta, Bell, Center, East Washington, Eureka, Farmer, Galt, Harrison, Lincoln, Mitchell, Odessa, Pioneer, Raymond, Rockville, Sterling, Union, Valley, Victoria, West Washington, and Wilson Township.

[Cutler, William G. History of the State of Kansas. Chicago: A. T. Andreas, 1883.]

[Kansas State Historical Society. "Kansas Counties -- Rice County, Kansas." http://www.kshs.org/genealogists/places/counties.php?county=RC (accessed 11 June 2009).]


No Locators Identified

Index Terms


    Rice County (Kan.) -- Genealogy
    Rice County (Kan.) -- History
    Citizenship -- United States
    District courts -- Kansas -- Rice County -- Records and correspondence
    Naturalization records -- Kansas -- Rice County

Creators and Contributors

Agency Classification:

    Local Government Agencies. Rice County.