Jump to Navigation

Records from Edwards County

Creator: Edwards County (Kan.)

Date: 1874-1991

Level of Description: Coll./Record Group

Material Type: Government record

Call Number: Unavailable

Unit ID: 216800

Abstract: This collection contains microfilmed records from Edwards County's County Clerk (fourteen volumes of County Commissioners Journals from 1874-1991) and from the City of Kinsley's City Clerk (ordinance records from 1878-1909, and City Council meeting minutes from 1878-1911 and 1934-1991). The original records were returned to Edwards County and Kinsley after they had been microfilmed.

Space Required/Quantity: Microfilm.

Title (Main title): Records from Edwards County

Administrative History

Administrative History: Edwards County, located in south central Kansas, was created by the Kansas Legislature in 1874. It was named for W. C. Edwards, a Reno County businessman who had built the first brick commercial block in Kinsley, Kansas on condition that the new county bear his name.

As of the 2000 census, Edwards County had a population of 3,449 and was composed of the City of Kinsley (county seat) and eleven townships: Belpre; Brown; Franklin; Jackson; Kinsley; Lincoln; Logan; North Brown; South Brown; Trenton; and Wayne.

[Edwards County -- Kansas. "A Brief History of Edwards County." http://www.edwardscounty.org/history.htm (Accessed June 12, 2009.)]

[Kansas State Historical Society, "Kansas Counties -- Edwards County, Kansas," http://www.kshs.org/genealogists/places/counties.php?county=ED (accessed June 3, 2009.)]


No Locators Identified

Index Terms


    Edwards County (Kan.) -- History
    County government -- Kansas -- Edwards County
    Municipal government -- Kansas -- Edwards County

Creators and Contributors

Agency Classification:

    Local Government Agencies. Edwards County.