Jump to Navigation

Records from Jewell County

Creator: Jewell County (Kan.)

Date: 1872-1986

Level of Description: Coll./Record Group

Material Type: Government record

Call Number: Unavailable

Unit ID: 216905

Abstract: The bulk of the collection consists of thirty-three 35mm microfilm reels of materials received from Jefferson County's Register of Deeds for released (1872-1960) and unreleased (1885-1942) chattel mortgages.

Space Required/Quantity: Microfilm ; 35mm.

Title (Main title): Records from Jewell County

Administrative History

Administrative History: Jewell County is located in north central Kansas along the Nebraska border. Its county seat and most populous city is Mankato. Organized in 1870, the county was named in honor of Lieutenant-Colonel Lewis R. Jewell, Sixth Kansas Cavalry, who died November 30, 1862, of wounds received in the November 28, 1862 battle of Cane Hill, Arkansas. Townships include Allen, Athens, Browns Creek, Buffalo, Burr Oak, Calvin, Center, Erving, Esbon, Grant, Harrison, Highland, Holmwood, Ionia, Jackson, Limestone, Montana, Odessa, Prairie, Richland, Sinclair, Vicksburg, Walnut, Washington, and White Mound.

[Blue Skyways. Counties, "Jewell County," http://www.skyways.org/counties/JW/ (accessed July 23, 2009.)]

[Kansas Historical Society, "Jewell County, Kansas," http://www.kshs.org/geog/geog_counties/view/county:JW (accessed 29 December 2010).]


No Locators Identified

Index Terms


    Jewel County (Kan.). Register of Deeds
    Jewell County (Kan.) -- Genealogy
    Jewell County (Kan.) -- History
    County government -- Kansas -- Jewell County

Creators and Contributors

Agency Classification:

    Local Government Agencies. Jewell County.