Jump to Navigation

Records from Phillips County

Creator: Phillips County (Kan.)

Date: 1876 - 1990

Level of Description: Coll./Record Group

Material Type: Government record

Call Number: Unavailable

Unit ID: 216925

Abstract: The State Archives holds few records from Phillips County. These records include civil appearance dockets before the Phillipsburg Township Justice of the Peace and dockets from the Phillipsburg Police Court, as well as Phillipsburg City Council minutes and a treasurer's record book from the County Superintendent of Public Instruction. All of these records are on microfilm.

Space Required/Quantity: Microfilm.

Title (Main title): Records from Phillips County

Administrative History

Administrative History: Phillips County, on the Nebraska border toward the center of Kansas, was established in 1867. The county was named for William Phillips, a Free State man who was murdered at Leavenworth on 1 Sept 1856 by Frederick Emory and his pro-slave 'law-and-order' militia.

The county seat is Phillipsburg. The county has numerous townships, including Arcade, Beaver, Belmont, Bow Creek, Crystal, Dayton, Deer Creek, Freedom, Glenwood, Granite, Greenwood, Kirwin, Logan, Long Island, Mound, Phillipsburg, Plainview, Plum, Prairie View, Rushville, Solomon, Sumner, Towanda,Valley, and Walnut Township.

[Kansas State Historical Society. "Kansas Counties -- Phillips County, Kansas." http://www.kshs.org/genealogists/places/counties.php?county=PL (accessed 22 June 2009).]


No Locators Identified

Index Terms


    Phillips County (Kan.) -- History
    City councils -- Kansas -- Phillips County
    Justices of the peace -- Kansas -- Phillips County
    Municipal courts -- Kansas -- Phillips County
    School superintendents -- Kansas -- Phillips County

Creators and Contributors

Agency Classification:

    Local Government Agencies. Phillips County.