Jump to Navigation

Records from Logan County

Creator: Logan County (Kan.)

Date: 1887 - 1988

Level of Description: Coll./Record Group

Material Type: Government record

Call Number: Unavailable

Unit ID: 216998

Abstract: This collection contains records from Logan County dated between 1887-1988. The records were created or maintained by the district court, probate court, and Oakley city clerk. They are exclusively on microfilm.

Records from the district court generally document civil and criminal cases, naturalizations, divorces, monetary claims within a particular boundary (usually one or more counties), and similar matters. All Logan County district court records consist of naturalization records dated 1908-1942. Records from the probate court document marriages, town incorporations, estates, wills, adoptions, insanities, delinquent and dependent children, and similar matters. Included are marriage records, 1888-1988, and probate case files, 1887-1951. The majority of the collection originates from the Oakley city clerk. They document various major construction projects such as the airport, municipal swimming pool, road improvements, and sewage plants, as well as city audit reports and ordinances. These records are collectively dated 1887-1987.

Space Required/Quantity: Microfilm + volumes.

Title (Main title): Records from Logan County

Administrative History

Administrative History: Logan County was established on February 24, 1887 and organized on September 17, 1887. It was named in honor of John A. Logan (1826-1886), a Union general during the Civil War and later U.S. senator from Illinois. Oakley became the county seat in 1963 replacing Russell Springs. Russell Springs, founded in 1865, was the Eaton stop on the Butterfield Overland Dispatch stage line. The line ran through rough Indian country to connect the gold mines in Denver, Colorado, with Fort Riley, Kansas. It ran until the Kansas Pacific Railroad was built. Travelers on the Butterfield Trail always made the natural springs in the area a watering place, calling them "Russell's springs." In 1965 the old county courthouse in Russell Springs became the Butterfield Trail Historical Museum. The county's townships include Augustine, Elkader, Lees, Logansport, McAllaster, Monument, Oakley, Paxton, Russell Springs, Western, and Winona.

[Kansas State Historical Society. "Kansas Counties - Logan County, Kansas." http://www.kshs.org/genealogists/places/counties.php?county=LG (accessed June 25, 2009.)]

[Kansas State Library. "Logan County." http://www.skyways.org/counties/LG/ (accessed June 25, 2009.)]


No Locators Identified

Index Terms


    Logan County (Kan.) -- Genealogy
    Logan County (Kan.) -- History
    Oakley (Kan.)
    Marriage records -- Kansas -- Logan County
    Naturalization records -- Kansas -- Logan County
    Probate records -- Kansas -- Logan County

Creators and Contributors

Agency Classification:

    Local Government Agencies. Logan County.