Jump to Navigation

Records from Sheridan County

Creator: Sheridan County (Kan.)

Date: 1871-1950

Level of Description: Coll./Record Group

Material Type: Government record

Call Number: MICROFILM: MF 1039-1048

Unit ID: 217022

Abstract: The State Archives holds only microfilmed Probate court Docket books, 1871-1950 (MICROFILM: MF 1039-1048).

Space Required/Quantity: 10 microfilm reels ; 35mm.

Title (Main title): Records from Sheridan County

Administrative History

Administrative History: Sheridan County, in the northwest section of the state of Kansas, was established in 1873. The county was named for General Philip H. Sheridan (1831-1888), who was active in the post-Civil War Indian campaigns on the plains.

The county seat is Hoxie. Townships in the county include Adell, Bloomfield, Bowcreek, East Saline, Kenneth, Logan, Parnell, Prairie Dog, Sheridan, Solomon, Springbrook, Union, Valley, and West Saline Township. Saline Township is defunct.

[Kansas State Historical Society. "Kansas Counties -- Sheridan County, Kansas." http://www.kshs.org/genealogists/places/counties.php?county=SD (accessed 26 June 2009).]


No Locators Identified

Index Terms


    Sheridan County (Kan.) -- Genealogy
    Sheridan County (Kan.) -- History
    Court calendars -- Kansas -- Sheridan County
    Probate courts -- Kansas -- Sheridan County
    Probate records -- Kansas -- Sheridan County

Creators and Contributors

Agency Classification:

    Local Government Agencies. Sheridan County.