Jump to Navigation

Records from Marion County

Creator: Marion County (Kan.)

Date: 1865 - 2000

Level of Description: Coll./Record Group

Material Type: Government record

Call Number: Unavailable

Unit ID: 217047

Abstract: This collection contains records from Marion County dated 1865-2000. The records are exclusively on microfilm and were created by the District Court, Probate Court, and register of deeds. Records from the District Court document major civil and criminal cases, naturalization of immigrants wishing to become United States citizens, divorces, monetary claims within a particular boundary (usually one or more counties), and similar matters. Records include civil appearance dockets, 1867-1919, and District Court journals, 1868-1918. The Probate Court had jurisdiction over marriages, town incorporations, estates, wills, adoptions, insanities, delinquent and dependent children, and similar matters within the county. Records include will records, 1868-1927; estate settlement records, 1887-1918; marriage records, 1865-1952; probate court journals, 1871-1918; case files, [ca. 1870-ca. 1893]; appearance dockets, 1883-1918; and a general index, 1872-1919. Records from the register of deeds documents land tenure and land transactions within the county. These records include deed records, 1870-1928; mortgage records, 1875-1930; 1862 Homestead Act patents, 1883-1901; quitclaim deeds, 1900-1906; and various deed indexes, 1870-2000.

Space Required/Quantity: Microfilm.

Title (Main title): Records from Marion County

Administrative History

Administrative History: Marion County was established on August 30, 1855. It was named in honor of Revolutionary War hero Francis Marion (1732?-1795). Known as the 'Swamp Fox' for his elusive tactics, he led a largely guerrilla campaign of raids and skirmishes against the British in South Carolina, wrecking havoc on British communication and supply lines, then withdrawing into the swamps. The city of Marion is the county seat and second largest city. Hillsborough is the county's largest city while Florence remains third. Townships include Blaine, Catlin, Centre, Clark, Clear Creek, Colfax, Doyle, Durham Park, East Branch, Fairplay, Gale, Grant, Lehigh, Liberty, Logan, Lost Springs, Menno, Milton, Moore, Peabody, Risley, Summit, West Branch, and Wilson.

[Kansas State Historical Society, "Kansas Counties - Marion County, Kansas," http://www.kshs.org/genealogists/places/counties.php?county=MN (accessed June 29, 2009.)]


No Locators Identified

Index Terms


    Marion County (Kan.) -- Genealogy
    Marion County (Kan.) -- History
    Civil law -- Kansas -- Marion County
    Deeds -- Kansas -- Marion County
    Land tenure -- Kansas -- Marion County
    Marriage records -- Kansas -- Marion County
    Probate records -- Kansas -- Marion County

Creators and Contributors

Agency Classification:

    Local Government Agencies. Marion County.