Jump to Navigation

Records from Rush County

Creator: Rush County (Kan.)

Date: 1856 - 2004

Level of Description: Coll./Record Group

Material Type: Government record

Call Number: Unavailable

Unit ID: 217117

Abstract: The State Archives holds records from Rush County's clerk, district and probate courts, and Register of Deeds, as well as the LaCrosse city government. These records are mostly concerned with vital statistical information for the county, marriages and deaths, estate administration and guardianship of minors and adults judged incapable of looking after themselves, naturalization of individuals as United States citizens, deeds, and school census' and district boundaries. These records span almost the entirety of the county's existence so far but focus on the last quarter of the nineteenth and the first half of the twentieth centuries. All of Rush County's records held by the State Archives are on microfilm.

Space Required/Quantity: Microfilm ; 35mm.

Title (Main title): Records from Rush County

Administrative History

Administrative History: Rush County, in west-central Kansas, was established in 1867 and organized in 1874. The county was named in memory of Alexander Rush, captain of Co. H, 2nd Kansas Colored Infantry, who was killed in action at Jenkins' Ferry, Arkansas, on 30 April 1864.

Walnut City was designated as the county seat and the city's name was changed to Rush Center. Within two years the county was re-surveyed and the southern tier of townships was given to neighboring Pawnee County in 1876. This changed the center of the county from Rush Center to LaCrosse. A conflict arose between the two towns when the county records were moved to LaCrosse as the intended county seat. The records were moved back and forth by wagon, amidst threats and gunfire, for years. However, no one was killed. LaCrosse was finally declared the permanent county seat.

Townships in Rush County include Alexander-Belle Prairie, Banner, Big Timber, Canter, Garfield, Hampton-Fairview, Illinois, La Crosse-Brookdale, Lone Star, Pioneer, Pleasantdale, and Union. Defunct townships that once existed in Rush County include many that have been merged, such as Alexander, Belle Prairie, Brookdale, Fairview, Hampton, and LaCrosse.

[Kansas State Historical Society. "Kansas Counties -- Rush County, Kansas." http://www.kshs.org/genealogists/places/counties.php?county=RH (accessed 7 July 2009).]

[Rush County Economic Development. "Rush County." http://www.rushcounty.org/history.html (accessed 7 July 2009).]


No Locators Identified

Index Terms


    Rush County (Kan.) -- Genealogy
    Rush County (Kan.) -- History
    Rush County (Kan.) -- Population
    Deeds -- Kansas -- Rush County
    District courts -- Kansas -- Rush County
    Marriage records -- Kansas -- Rush County
    Naturalization records -- Kansas -- Rush County
    Probate courts -- Kansas -- Rush County
    Probate records -- Kansas -- Rush County
    School census -- Kansas -- Rush County
    School districts -- Boundaries -- Kansas -- Rush County

Creators and Contributors

Agency Classification:

    Local Government Agencies. Rush County.