Jump to Navigation

Records from Marshall County

Creator: Marshall County (Kan.)

Date: 1857 - 1995

Level of Description: Coll./Record Group

Material Type: Government record

Call Number: Unavailable

Unit ID: 217158

Abstract: This collection contains paper and microfilmed records from Marshall County, Kansas dating between 1857-1995. The records were created by the county clerk, county treasurer, district court, probate court, register of deeds, and superintendent of public instruction. The paper records include school district files from the county treasurer pertaining to school finance, as well as abstracts of payments for school lands.

The majority of the records are on microfilm. Records from the district court document major civil and criminal cases, naturalization of immigrants wishing to become United States citizens, divorces, monetary claims within a particular boundary (usually one or more counties), and similar matters. Included are divorce case files, 1863-1917; naturalization records, 1865-1952; appearance dockets, 1858-1922; and court journals, 1860-1920. Records from the probate court document marriages, town incorporations, estates, wills, adoptions, insanities, delinquent and dependent children, and similar matters within the county. Included are marriage indexes and licenses, 1857-1955; court journals, 1877-1918; will records, 1883-1938; guardian and estate administrator bonds, letters, and accounts, 1858-1923; estate inventories and appraisements, 1857-1921; real estate sales, 1884-1920; and accounts against estates, 1862-1883. Records from the register of deeds document land tenure and sales for real property in Marshall County. Included are deeds, tax deeds, warranty deeds, quitclaim deeds, land patents relating to the 1862 Homestead Act, cemetery deeds, and mortgages collectively dated 1858-1951. Included are indexes for said deeds dated 1858-1929. Records from the county superintendent of public instruction include school census records documenting enrollment per class, dated 1892-1923.

Space Required/Quantity: Microfilm + 1.5 cubic feet (3 boxes) and oversize material.

Title (Main title): Records from Marshall County

Administrative History

Administrative History: Marshall County was established on August 25, 1855. It was named in honor of Frank [or Francis] J. Marshall, member of the first territorial legislature, who operated a ferry on the Big Blue River at the Oregon Trail crossing. Marshall named this site Marysville after his wife, and it would later become the county seat. Marshall County was located on the Oregon Trail, the Mormon Trail, and the route of the Pony Express. The Holladay stage line from Atchison to Salt Lake City also passed through the county.

The Oregon Trail crossed the Blue River about 6 miles south of Marysville. The Donner party came through there in 1846 and named a spot near their campsite Alcove Spring. Today this site is considered one of the most important Oregon Trail sites in Kansas. Two Pony Express stations were located in Marshall County. At Marysville the original 1859 pony barn is now a museum. Guittard Station near Beattie is commemorated by a roadside marker.

Marysville is both the county seat and largest city. Townships include Balderson, Bigelow, Blue Rapids City, Blue Rapids, Center, Clear Fork, Cleveland, Cottage Hill, Elm Creek, Franklin, Guittard, Herkimer, Lincoln, Logan, Marysville, Murray, Noble, Oketo, Richland, Rock, St. Bridget, Vermillion, Walnut, Waterville, and Wells.

[Kansas State Historical Society, "Kansas Counties - Marshall County, Kansas," http://www.kshs.org/genealogists/places/counties.php?county=MS (accessed July 2, 2009.)]

[Kansas State Library, "Marshall County - History," http://skyways.lib.ks.us/counties/MS/ (accessed July 2, 2009.)]


No Locators Identified

Index Terms


    Marshall County (Kan.) -- Genealogy
    Marshall County (Kan.) -- History
    Civil law -- Kansas -- Marshall County
    Court records -- Kansas -- Marshall County
    Criminal law -- Kansas -- Marshall County
    Deeds -- Kansas -- Marshall County
    Marriage records -- Kansas -- Marshall County
    Naturalization records -- Kansas -- Marshall County
    Probate records -- Kansas -- Marshall County

Creators and Contributors

Agency Classification:

    Local Government Agencies. Marshall County.