Jump to Navigation

Records from Morris County

Creator: Morris County (Kan.)

Date: 1857 - 1999

Level of Description: Coll./Record Group

Material Type: Government record

Call Number: Unavailable

Unit ID: 217260

Abstract: This collection contains both paper and microfilmed records from Morris County dated 1857-1999. The records were created or maintained by the county clerk, county treasurer, district court, probate court, register of deeds, and the superintendent of public instruction. The records from the county treasurer consist of volumes such as taxation ledgers, 1957-1964; motor vehicle license registers, 1921B-1931; school district bond registers, 1872-1958; school land sale registers, 1866-1924; and journals pertaining to school district treasurers, 1905-1907. The records from the county clerk include a journal dated 1887-1909, documenting minutes and financial information for the defunct Garfield Township.
Records from the district court document major civil and criminal cases, naturalizations, divorces, monetary claims within a particular boundary (usually one or more counties), and similar matters. These records are exclusively on microfilm. Included are naturalization records, 1870-1929; district court journals, 1860-1924; and civil appearance dockets, 1860-1918. Records from the probate court document marriages, town incorporations, estates, wills, adoptions, insanities, delinquent and dependent children, and similar matters within the county. These records are exclusively on microfilm. Included are marriage records, 1859-1959; probate case files, 1856-1917; appearance dockets, 1907-1921; will records, 1864-1924; estate inventories and appraisements, 1879-1930; and administrators and guardians accounts, 1879-1925.

Records from the register of deeds document land sales and land tenure within the county. These records are exclusively on microfilm. Included are cemetery deeds, 1887-1999; deed records, 1863-1901; homestead deeds, 1879-1923; Western Land District records, 1858-1862; indexes to town and city lots as well as county property, 1857-1999; patent records, 1885-1891; and tax deeds, 1873-1916.

Records from the superintendent of public instruction document school censuses and finances for school districts that no longer exist. The school censuses and annual reports, dated 1881-1966, are microfilmed. Volumes include records of school district officers, 1901-1933; district appropriations records, 1881-1917; minutes from the inter-high school league and High School Athletic Association, collectively dated 1930-1958; and a minutes from school district 3 in Kelso, KS, 1921-1931.

Space Required/Quantity: Microfilm + circa 1 cubic foot and volumes.

Title (Main title): Records from Morris County

Administrative History

Administrative History: Morris County was established on February 11, 1859. It was originally named for Henry A. Wise, who was Governor of Virginia during the John Brown seizure of Harper's Ferry. Brown's execution at Charlestown, December 2, 1859, was one of the last acts of Wise's administration. The name was changed to Morris in February, 1859, in honor of Thomas Morris, a United States Senator from Ohio in 1832, who distinguished himself as an opponent of slavery. He died in 1844.

Council Grove is the county seat and most populous city. Current townships include Highland, Overland, and Township numbers 1-9. Defunct townships include Burdick, Clarks Creek, Council Grove, Diamond Valley, Elm Creek, Four Mile, Garfield, Grandview, Neosho, Ohio, Parker, Rolling Prairie, Valley, and Warren Townships.

[Kansas State Historical Society. "Kansas Counties - Morris County, Kansas." http://www.kshs.org/genealogists/places/counties.php?county=MR (accessed July 9, 2009.)]

[Kansas State Library. "Morris County History." http://www.skyways.org/counties/MR/ (accessed July 9, 2009.)]


No Locators Identified

Index Terms


    Morris County (Kan.) -- Genealogy
    Morris County (Kan.) -- History
    Court records -- Kansas -- Morris County
    Deeds -- Kansas -- Morris County
    Marriage records -- Kansas -- Morris County
    Naturalization records -- Kansas -- Morris County
    Probate records -- Kansas -- Morris County
    School census -- Kansas -- Morris County

Creators and Contributors

Agency Classification:

    Local Government Agencies. Morris County.