Jump to Navigation

Lecompton Constitution election returns

View at Kansas Memory

Date: 1857

Level of Description: File unit

Material Type: Government record

Call Number: Executive Department, Kansas Territory, Election Returns (special)

Unit ID: 228887

Summary: Election returns from the first vote held on the Lecompton Constitution on December 21, 1857. Counties include Allen, Anderson, Bourbon, Breckinridge (defunct), Brown, Calhoun (defunct), Coffey, Davis, Doniphan, Dorn (defunct), Douglas, Franklin, Jefferson, Johnson, Leavenworth, Linn, Lykins (defunct), Marshall, McGee (defunct), Nemaha, Riley, Shawnee, and Woodson. Free-state candidates for state office included George W. Smith for Governor, William Y. Roberts for Lieutenant Governor, Philip C. Schuyler for Secretary of State, Joel K. Goodin for Auditor, Andrew J. Mead for Treasurer, and Marcus J. Parrott for Congress. Pro-slavery candidates for state office included Frank J. Marshall for Governor, William G. Mathias for Lieutenant Governor, William T. Spicely for Secretary of State, Blake Little for Auditor, Thomas Cramer for Treasurer, and Joseph P. Carr for Congress. Candidates for the Senate and House of Representatives are also listed, as well as a deciding vote to allow a constitution with slavery or "to hell with the Constitution" (without slavery).

Space Required/Quantity: [Not stated]

Title (Main title): Lecompton Constitution election returns

Scope and Content

Portions of Collection Not Separately Described:

  1. Small
  2. Large


No Locators Identified