Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Lyon

Page 1 of 2 showing 50 records of 69 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Admire  Lyon  1886-11-15  Open in 1961   
Agnes City  Lyon  1856-11-01  1866-06-22  Established in Wise County. Was also in Breckinridge County for a time.  
Agnes City  Lyon  1871-06-15  1891-06-30   
Air  Lyon  1880-02-25  1888-03-15   
Air  Lyon  1888-03-22  1900-10-15   
Allen  Lyon  1857-02-19  1984-10-13   
Allen  Lyon  1855-02-26  1856-10-28  Was also in Breckinridge County for a time.  
Americus  Lyon  1859-12-15  1864-12-23  Name change from Orleans. Name change to Sheridan. Established in Breckinridge County.  
Americus  Lyon  1866-11-19  Open in 1961  Name change from Sheridan.  
Badger Creek  Lyon  1873-03-20  1876-03-09   
Badger Creek  Lyon  1876-05-19  1896-12-31   
Bitlertown  Lyon  1884-07-01  1885-03-20  Name change from Olpe. Name change to Olpe.  
Bitlertown  Lyon  1880-01-23  1884-04-14  Name change to Olpe.  
Bitlertown  Lyon  1885-11-02  1887-04-06  Name change from Olpe. Name change to Olpe.  
Bunker Hill  Lyon  1870-06-13  1870-10-18   
Bushong  Lyon  1887-01-31  1976-07-02   
Columbia  Lyon  1857-02-20  1857-09-19  Moved to Emporia. Established in Madison County. Was also in Breckinridge County for a time.  
Comiskey  Morris  1912-06-25  1929-01-31  Was also in Lyon County for a time.  
Cross  Lyon  1870-04-15  1871-10-16   
Decora  Lyon  1859-07-21  1862-08-26  Also spelled Decorrah. Established in Breckinridge County.  
Dell  Lyon  1885-07-27  1890-10-15   
Dell  Lyon  1881-05-03  1883-01-22   
Dow Creek  Lyon  1873-03-17  1874-09-23   
Eads  Lyon  1878-06-14  1884-09-16   
Eagle Creek  Lyon  1870-03-25  1873-04-23   
Elco  Lyon  1885-01-29  1903-12-31  Moved from Ashler.  
Elmendaro  Lyon  1860-09-19  1870-10-19  Also spelled Elmandaro. Established in Madison County. Was also in Breckinridge County for a time.  
Emporia  Lyon  1857-09-19  Open in 1961  Moved from Columbia. Established in Breckinridge County.  
Ewing  Lyon  1883-04-12  1887-12-15   
Forest Hill  Lyon  1865-11-01  1871-11-02   
Forest Hill  Lyon  1858-11-01  1865-09-04  Established in Breckinridge County.  
Foster Springs  Lyon  1878-04-11  1879-08-01   
Fourmile  Lyon  1900-07-20  1901-04-13   
Fouse  Lyon  1890-06-14  1895-06-20  [Never in operation]  
Fremont  Lyon  1876-05-04  1878-05-08   
Fremont  Lyon  1860-04-11  1867-02-13  Established in Breckinridge County.  
Fremont  Lyon  1870-08-30  1873-11-03   
Harrisburgh  Lyon  1870-07-14  1871-10-03   
Hartford  Lyon  1857-11-07  Open in 1961  Established in Madison County. Was also in Breckinridge County for a time.  
Hortonburg  Lyon  1882-05-31  1900-01-20  Also known as Hortonville. Name change to Lang.  
Italia  Lyon  1858-02-02  1863-02-27  Name change to Neosho Rapids. Established in Madison County. Was also in Breckinridge County for a time.  
Ivy  Lyon  1871-07-19  1896-08-31   
Lang  Lyon  1919-08-13  1924-02-29   
Lang  Lyon  1900-01-20  1905-06-30  Name change from Hortonburg.  
Lena Valley  Lyon  1872-06-10  1887-12-10  Established in Greenwood County.  
Line  Greenwood  1879-04-18  1878-06-06  Established in Lyon County.  
Magda  Lyon  1890-06-21  1904-05-14   
Menda  Lyon  1900-07-20  1901-04-13   
Miller  Lyon  1912-04-12  1958-04-18   
Miller  Lyon  1887-04-22  1905-12-15   
1 | 2

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page