Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Shawnee

Page 1 of 2 showing 50 records of 65 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Auburn  Shawnee  1859-03-07  Open in 1961  Name change from Brownsville.  
Berryton  Shawnee  1888-05-07  Open in 1961   
Blacksmith  Shawnee  1871-07-19  1872-11-11  Name change from Centre Grove.  
Brownsville  Shawnee  1856-02-13  1859-03-07  Name change to Auburn.  
Burlingame  Osage  1858-01-30  Open in 1961  Name change from Council City. Established in Shawnee County.  
Central Grove  Shawnee  1871-08-01  1871-09-29   
Centre Grove  Shawnee  1871-06-27  1871-07-19  Name change to Blacksmith.  
Council City  Osage  1855-04-30  1858-01-30  Name change to Burlingame. Established in Shawnee County.  
Cross Creek  Shawnee  1864-12-09  1868-03-20  Established in Pottawatomie County. Was also in Jackson County for a time.  
Dover  Shawnee  1863-04-16  Open in 1961   
Elk Creek  Osage  1857-10-27  1858-05-10  Moved to Ridgeway. Established in Shawnee County.  
Elmont  Shawnee  1887-05-14  1955-05-31   
Esther  Shawnee  1890-03-26  1893-09-30   
Eugene  Shawnee  1866-10-03  1870-12-12  Name change to North Topeka.  
Grand Haven  Shawnee  1875-10-26  1901-04-13  Established in Osage County.  
Hallet  Shawnee  1855-03-15  1855-06-02  Name change to Silver Lake.  
Highland Park  Shawnee  1890-02-28  1894-06-20  [Never in operation]  
Hygienic  Shawnee  1901-12-05  1903-08-15   
Indianola  Shawnee  1855-12-21  1868-12-29  Moved from Loring. Established in Calhoun County. Was also in Jackson County for a time.  
Kilmer  Shawnee  1886-02-05  1900-09-15   
Kingsville  Shawnee  1873-02-06  1914-04-30   
Loring  Shawnee  1855-03-15  1855-12-21  Moved to Indianola. Established in Calhoun County.  
Lynn Creek  Shawnee  1872-10-09  1874-10-16   
Mairestown  Shawnee  1857-12-08  1862-12-16   
Menoken  Shawnee  1877-04-17  1910-01-15   
Mission  Shawnee  1871-06-27  1872-04-17   
North Topeka  Shawnee  1870-12-12  1879-09-08  Name change from Eugene.  
Oakland  Shawnee  1888-09-25  1910-08-31   
Pauline  Shawnee  1872-02-09  1973-11-30  In 1973, Pauline became a classified station within the Topeka post office. Station still open as of 2003.  
Plowboy  Shawnee  1871-08-08  1882-04-24  Name change to Redpath.  
Quinton Heights  Shawnee  1897-01-29  1899-12-30   
Quinton Heights  Shawnee  1889-11-13  1895-06-15   
Redpath  Shawnee  1882-04-24  1884-02-04  Name change from Plowboy.  
Richardson  Osage  1855-01-09  1874-09-29  Established in Shawnee County.  
Richland  Shawnee  1857-06-01  Open in 1961   
Ridgeway  Osage  1858-05-10  1900-10-20  Moved from Elk Creek. Established in Shawnee County.  
Rossville  Shawnee  1862-01-29  Open in 1961  Was also in Jackson County for a time.  
Sandusky  Shawnee  1890-02-28  1895-06-20   
Saw-Qua  Shawnee  1871-01-24  1873-04-23  Also known as Saw-Gua.  
Seabrook  Shawnee  1887-02-10  1899-10-31   
Shorey  Shawnee  1895-04-20  1907-12-14   
Shorey  Shawnee  1889-02-05  1895-04-15   
Silver Lake  Shawnee  1855-06-02  1857-09-08   
Silver Lake  Shawnee  1868-07-10  Open in 1961  Name change from Hallet.  
Sugar Works  Shawnee  1891-10-24  1895-06-20  [Never in operation]  
Swinburn  Shawnee  1896-05-18  1901-01-15   
Tecumseh  Shawnee  1855-03-03  Open in 1961   
Tevis  Shawnee  1887-02-02  1909-06-30   
Topeka  Shawnee  1855-03-03  Open in 1961   
Union Town  Shawnee  1856-02-20  1856-08-28   
1 | 2

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page