Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Anderson

Page 1 of 2 showing 50 records of 51 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Cedar Bluff  Anderson  1857-06-29  1858-04-03  Name change to Shannon.  
Springfield  Anderson  1858-06-29  1860-06-28   
Shannon  Anderson  1858-04-03  1860-09-13  Name change from Cedar Bluff.  
Walker  Anderson  1857-05-14  1861-05-20  Name change to Mount Gilead.  
Indian Valley  Anderson  1861-02-08  1861-11-14   
Rosyvale  Anderson  1860-11-21  1862-09-20   
Redes  Anderson  1858-11-01  1864-08-15   
Mount Gilead  Anderson  1861-05-20  1866-04-23  Name change from Walker. Moved to Greeley.  
Canton  Anderson  1858-06-25  1866-11-22   
Hyatt  Anderson  1857-09-10  1867-03-14   
Cherry Creek  Anderson  1861-07-09  1867-05-24   
Cresco  Anderson  1858-07-13  1868-10-14   
Jerome  Anderson  1865-05-05  1870-03-07  Name change to Central City.  
Delmont  Anderson  1870-02-15  1870-10-13   
Divide  Anderson  1871-06-02  1872-04-03  Name change to Colony.  
Sugar Valley  Anderson  1871-09-21  1872-09-26   
Thomas  Anderson  1880-01-05  1880-01-20  Name change to Cornell.  
Cornell  Anderson  1880-01-20  1880-06-12  Name change from Thomas. Name change to Westphalia.  
Mount Ida  Anderson  1880-12-06  1881-02-09  Name change to Mont Ida.  
Cherry Mound  Anderson  1875-06-21  1882-02-10   
Reeder  Anderson  1882-03-31  1882-11-21   
Elizabethtown  Anderson  1859-03-04  1883-01-02   
Rich  Anderson  1872-03-01  1883-04-17  Moved to Equity.  
Ozark  Anderson  1862-03-04  1885-11-09  Moved to Kincaid. Was also in Allen County for a time (site moved).  
Mineral Point  Anderson  1862-09-30  1887-02-03  Moved to Harris.  
Como  Anderson  1881-01-03  1887-08-31  Moved to Northcott.  
Cresco  Anderson  1891-02-07  1891-07-31   
Sugar Valley  Anderson  1873-08-19  1894-09-28  Name change to Sugarvale.  
Equity  Anderson  1883-04-17  1894-10-15  Moved from Rich.  
Emerald  Anderson  1869-06-15  1895-09-14  Was also in Franklin County for a time (site moved).  
Lawn  Anderson  1899-03-30  1899-11-30   
Sugarvale  Anderson  1894-09-28  1900-09-29  Name change from Sugar Valley.  
Central City  Anderson  1870-03-07  1903-07-14  Name change from Jerome.  
Emerald  Anderson  1897-10-08  1903-11-14   
Scipio  Anderson  1859-09-06  1905-03-15  Established in Franklin County.  
Mineral Point  Anderson  1887-05-14  1905-04-05  Name change to Amiot.  
Northcott  Anderson  1887-08-31  1906-01-31  Moved from Como.  
Glenloch  Anderson  1887-01-26  1913-02-15   
Haskell  Anderson  1880-04-05  1921-04-19  Name change to Bush City.  
Mont Ida  Anderson  1881-02-09  1944-08-31  Name change from Mount Ida.  
Amiot  Anderson  1905-04-05  1951-09-30  Name change from Mineral Point.  
Lone Elm  Anderson  1879-03-14  1956-01-31   
Selma  Anderson  1887-08-12  1956-01-31   
Bush City  Anderson  1921-04-19  1956-02-29  Name change from Haskell.  
Harris  Anderson  1887-02-03  1971-10-07  Moved from Mineral Point.  
Colony  Anderson  1872-04-03  Open in 1961  Name change from Divide.  
Welda  Anderson  1874-06-23  Open in 1961   
Kincaid  Anderson  1885-11-09  Open in 1961  Moved from Ozark.  
Greeley  Anderson  1866-04-23  Open in 1961  Moved from Mount Gilead.  
Garnett  Anderson  1859-07-16  Open in 1961   
1 | 2

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page