Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Anderson

Page 1 of 2 showing 50 records of 51 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Westphalia  Anderson  1880-06-12  Open in 1961  Name change from Cornell.  
Welda  Anderson  1874-06-23  Open in 1961   
Walker  Anderson  1857-05-14  1861-05-20  Name change to Mount Gilead.  
Thomas  Anderson  1880-01-05  1880-01-20  Name change to Cornell.  
Sugarvale  Anderson  1894-09-28  1900-09-29  Name change from Sugar Valley.  
Sugar Valley  Anderson  1873-08-19  1894-09-28  Name change to Sugarvale.  
Sugar Valley  Anderson  1871-09-21  1872-09-26   
Springfield  Anderson  1858-06-29  1860-06-28   
Shannon  Anderson  1858-04-03  1860-09-13  Name change from Cedar Bluff.  
Selma  Anderson  1887-08-12  1956-01-31   
Scipio  Anderson  1859-09-06  1905-03-15  Established in Franklin County.  
Rosyvale  Anderson  1860-11-21  1862-09-20   
Rich  Anderson  1872-03-01  1883-04-17  Moved to Equity.  
Reeder  Anderson  1882-03-31  1882-11-21   
Redes  Anderson  1858-11-01  1864-08-15   
Ozark  Anderson  1862-03-04  1885-11-09  Moved to Kincaid. Was also in Allen County for a time (site moved).  
Northcott  Anderson  1887-08-31  1906-01-31  Moved from Como.  
Mount Ida  Anderson  1880-12-06  1881-02-09  Name change to Mont Ida.  
Mount Gilead  Anderson  1861-05-20  1866-04-23  Name change from Walker. Moved to Greeley.  
Mont Ida  Anderson  1881-02-09  1944-08-31  Name change from Mount Ida.  
Mineral Point  Anderson  1887-05-14  1905-04-05  Name change to Amiot.  
Mineral Point  Anderson  1862-09-30  1887-02-03  Moved to Harris.  
Lone Elm  Anderson  1879-03-14  1956-01-31   
Lawn  Anderson  1899-03-30  1899-11-30   
Kincaid  Anderson  1885-11-09  Open in 1961  Moved from Ozark.  
Jerome  Anderson  1865-05-05  1870-03-07  Name change to Central City.  
Indian Valley  Anderson  1861-02-08  1861-11-14   
Hyatt  Anderson  1857-09-10  1867-03-14   
Haskell  Anderson  1880-04-05  1921-04-19  Name change to Bush City.  
Harris  Anderson  1887-02-03  1971-10-07  Moved from Mineral Point.  
Greeley  Anderson  1866-04-23  Open in 1961  Moved from Mount Gilead.  
Glenloch  Anderson  1887-01-26  1913-02-15   
Garnett  Anderson  1859-07-16  Open in 1961   
Equity  Anderson  1883-04-17  1894-10-15  Moved from Rich.  
Emerald  Anderson  1869-06-15  1895-09-14  Was also in Franklin County for a time (site moved).  
Emerald  Anderson  1897-10-08  1903-11-14   
Elizabethtown  Anderson  1859-03-04  1883-01-02   
Divide  Anderson  1871-06-02  1872-04-03  Name change to Colony.  
Delmont  Anderson  1870-02-15  1870-10-13   
Cresco  Anderson  1891-02-07  1891-07-31   
Cresco  Anderson  1858-07-13  1868-10-14   
Cornell  Anderson  1880-01-20  1880-06-12  Name change from Thomas. Name change to Westphalia.  
Como  Anderson  1881-01-03  1887-08-31  Moved to Northcott.  
Colony  Anderson  1872-04-03  Open in 1961  Name change from Divide.  
Cherry Mound  Anderson  1875-06-21  1882-02-10   
Cherry Creek  Anderson  1861-07-09  1867-05-24   
Central City  Anderson  1870-03-07  1903-07-14  Name change from Jerome.  
Cedar Bluff  Anderson  1857-06-29  1858-04-03  Name change to Shannon.  
Canton  Anderson  1858-06-25  1866-11-22   
Bush City  Anderson  1921-04-19  1956-02-29  Name change from Haskell.  
1 | 2

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page