Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Hamilton

Page 1 of 1 showing 33 records of 33 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Fort Aubrey  Hamilton  1866-01-24  1866-10-03  Established in Marion County.  
Sargent  Hamilton  1873-01-24  1873-10-28   
Sargent  Hamilton  1873-12-01  1875-05-24   
Sargent  Hamilton  1877-12-10  1881-07-05  Name change to Coolidge.  
Zamora  Hamilton  1879-09-02  1885-08-10  Name change to Kendall.  
Veteran  Stanton  1886-02-13  1887-02-11  Name change to Johnson. Established in Hamilton County.  
Laport  Grant  1886-11-23  1887-04-16  Name change to Shockey. Established in Hamilton County.  
Surprise  Grant  1886-03-17  1887-05-26  Moved to Tilden. Established in Hamilton County.  
Enfield  Hamilton  1887-04-08  1887-11-30  [No papers]  
Emory  Kearny  1886-08-21  1889-04-20  Established in Hamilton County.  
Irene  Hamilton  1887-08-31  1890-01-31   
Lee  Hamilton  1886-03-27  1891-07-15   
Shiloh  Hamilton  1888-02-25  1894-01-15   
Golden  Grant  1886-09-27  1899-05-15  Established in Hamilton County.  
Zionville  Grant  1886-08-18  1901-09-30  Established in Hamilton County.  
Edwin  Stanton  1886-03-27  1905-03-15  Established in Hamilton County.  
Klassen  Hamilton  1906-11-05  1907-02-09  [Order of change rescinded]  
Ulysses  Grant  1886-04-29  1909-07-15  Established in Hamilton County.  
Roanoke  Stanton  1886-08-18  1913-09-15  Established in Hamilton County.  
Fletcher  Stanton  1886-12-11  1913-09-15  Established in Hamilton County.  
Federal  Hamilton  1886-08-17  1913-11-30   
Stowell  Hamilton  1886-08-18  1913-11-30   
Kearney  Kearny  1886-08-18  1914-04-30  Established in Hamilton County.  
Flogny  Hamilton  1915-12-14  1917-03-31   
Menno  Hamilton  1907-02-19  1924-02-15   
Gognac  Grant  1886-06-09  1926-01-30  Established in Hamilton County. Was also in Stanton County for a time (site moved).  
Hatton  Hamilton  1888-02-25  1928-07-31   
Hartland  Kearny  1885-12-11  1933-07-15  Established in Hamilton County.  
Irene  Hamilton  1906-06-05  1933-08-31   
Syracuse  Hamilton  1873-05-23  Open in 1961   
Coolidge  Hamilton  1881-07-05  Open in 1961  Name change from Sargent.  
Kendall  Hamilton  1885-08-10  Open in 1961  Name change from Zamora.  
Johnson  Stanton  1887-02-11  Open in 1961  Name change from Veteran. Established in Hamilton County.  

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page