Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Dickinson

Page 2 of 2 showing 16 records of 66 total, starting on record 51

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Akron  Dickinson  1874-06-22  1875-05-24   
Aroma  Dickinson  1869-03-23  1888-01-20  Moved from Far West.  
Belle Springs  Dickinson  1876-05-09  1890-11-15   
Bonaccord  Dickinson  1884-07-17  1902-01-31   
Buckeye  Dickinson  1900-03-16  1904-02-29   
Mont Cenis  Dickinson  1872-08-08  1882-05-31  Also spelled Mount Cenis.  
Industry  Dickinson  1876-02-21  1906-11-30  Moved from Lovejoy. Was also in Clay County for a time (site moved).  
Shadybrook  Dickinson  1901-06-04  1907-02-28   
Smoky Hill  Dickinson  1860-12-06  1863-02-25  Moved to Lambs Point.  
Solomon  Dickinson  1894-08-24  Open in 1961  Name change from Solomon City.  
Stitt  Dickinson  1888-07-10  1902-01-31   
Sunnyside  Dickinson  1890-10-07  1894-04-14   
Sutphen  Dickinson  1894-10-15  1905-06-30  Name change from Sutphen's Mill.  
Sutphen's Mill  Dickinson  1879-05-16  1894-10-15  Name change to Sutphen.  
Sunnyside  Dickinson  1884-07-17  1890-08-30   
Solomon City  Dickinson  1860-10-09  1894-08-24  Name change to Solomon. Established in Saline County.  
1 | 2

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page