Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Lincoln

Page 2 of 2 showing 9 records of 59 total, starting on record 51

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Ash Grove  Lincoln  1916-12-09  1944-03-31   
Denmark  Lincoln  1917-03-30  1954-01-31   
Shady Bend  Lincoln  1880-06-22  1963-02-28   
Vesper  Lincoln  1872-04-22  1966-12-30   
Westfall  Lincoln  1917-05-09  1971-09-16   
Barnard  Lincoln  1888-05-22  Open in 1961  Name change from Nimrod.  
Lincoln  Lincoln  1878-11-29  Open in 1961  Name change from Lincoln Centre.  
Sylvan Grove  Lincoln  1872-12-12  Open in 1961   
Beverly  Lincoln  1886-04-29  Open in 1961  Moved from Colorado.  
1 | 2

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page