Jump to Navigation

Records from Coffey County

Creator: Coffey County (Kan.)

Date: 1859 - 1984

Level of Description: Coll./Record Group

Material Type: Government record

Call Number: Unavailable

Unit ID: 216809

Abstract: This collection contains both paper and microfilmed records from Coffey County, primarily from the County Clerk, District Court, Justice of the Peace, Probate Court, and Register of Deeds. The records date between 1859-1984, and document land sales and ownership, school censuses, the naturalization of Coffey County residents, estate and will administration, and district court criminal and civil cases. The paper records consist civil and criminal case dockets from the Justice of the Peace dated 1868-1928; County Treasurer land tax assessment rolls, 1862-1866; Fair Hope school district census and budget records, 1897-1953; and a police court docket, 1892-1905.

The majority of the records are on microfilm. The microfilmed district court records document cases involving serious criminal offenses, naturalizations, divorces, and large monetary amounts. These include divorce case files, 1864-1917; and naturalization records and petitions, 1869-1929. Records from the probate court document cases involving marriages, town incorporations, estates, wills, adoptions, insanities, delinquent and dependent children, and similar matters within the county. These include marriage records, 1858-1926; marriage affidavits, 1877-1917; will records, 1870-1917; administration of estates case filed, 1859-1915; and closed guardianship case files, 1873-1917. Records from the county clerk include vital statistic birth, death, and marriage records dated 1886-1910. The records from the register of deeds document land sales and ownership, as well as scholastic censuses. Included are deed records, 1857-1901; index to deed records, 1858-1900; and military discharge records, 1869-1885.

Space Required/Quantity: Microfilm + volumes and circa 1.5 cubic feet.

Title (Main title): Records from Coffey County

Administrative History

Administrative History: Coffey County, located in east-central Kansas, was established on August 25, 1855. Since then the population has grown to over 8,000. It was named in honor of Colonel A. M. Coffey, a member of the Legislative Council of Kansas Territory. The county seat and largest city is Burlington. Coffey County is the home of Kansas' only nuclear power plant: the Wolf Creek Generating Station. Townships include Avon, Burlington, California (now defunct), Hampden, Key West, Le Roy, Liberty, Lincoln, Neosho, Ottumwa, Pleasant, Pottawatomie, Rock Creek, Spring Creek, and Star.

[Kansas State Historical Society. "Kansas Counties - Coffey County, Kansas." http://www.kshs.org/genealogists/places/counties.php?county=CF (accessed June 15, 2009.)]

Index Terms


    Coffey County (Kan.) -- Genealogy
    Coffey County (Kan.) -- History
    Coffey County (Kan.) -- Statistics, Vital
    Civil law -- Kansas -- Coffey County
    Criminal law -- Kansas -- Coffey County
    Deeds -- Kansas -- Coffey County
    Land tenure -- Kansas -- Coffey County
    Marriage records -- Kansas -- Coffey County
    Naturalization records -- Kansas -- Coffey County
    Probate records -- Kansas -- Coffey County

Creators and Contributors

Agency Classification:

    Local Government Agencies. Coffey County.