Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Harper

Page 1 of 1 showing 41 records of 41 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Albion  Harper  1883-01-12  1902-12-15  Name change from Gourock.  
Anthony  Harper  1878-06-14  Open in 1961   
Attica  Harper  1880-07-21  Open in 1961   
Bluff  Harper  1887-02-01  1890-01-28  Moved from Bluff Creek. Name change to Bluff City.  
Bluff City  Harper  1890-01-28  Open in 1961  Name change from Bluff.  
Bluff Creek  Harper  1878-07-24  1887-02-01  Moved to Bluff.  
Camchester  Harper  1900-02-02  1903-03-31  Name change from Cameron.  
Cameron  Harper  1893-06-02  1900-02-02  Name change to Camchester.  
Coleville  Harper  1881-01-24  1882-05-25  Name change from Odell. Name change to Danville.  
Cora City  Harper  1877-05-22  1877-06-18  Name change to Harper.  
Corwin  Harper  1883-08-20  1957-06-28   
Crisfield  Harper  1885-02-27  1951-06-30  Moved from Otego.  
Crystalsprings  Harper  1885-01-16  1976-05-05  Also spelled Crystal Springs.  
Curran  Harper  1892-04-27  1903-11-30   
Danville  Harper  1882-05-25  Open in 1961  Name change from Coleville.  
Duquoin  Harper  1883-05-03  1975-01-17   
Embry  Harper  1885-12-15  1889-11-05   
Ferguson  Harper  1904-07-12  1915-01-30   
Ferguson  Harper  1915-09-28  1918-03-15   
Fox  Kingman  1886-03-05  1888-02-20  Established in Harper County.  
Freeport  Harper  1885-09-16  Open in 1961  Moved from Mid Lothian.  
Goss  Harper  1892-05-24  1896-09-30   
Gourock  Harper  1878-07-30  1883-01-12  Name change to Albion. Established in Sumner County.  
Harper  Harper  1877-06-18  Open in 1961  Name change from Cora City.  
Inyo  Harper  1879-11-17  1893-02-28   
Joppa  Harper  1879-06-10  1884-10-14   
Mid Lothian  Harper  1879-04-23  1885-09-16  Moved to Freeport.  
Odell  Harper  1878-08-19  1881-01-24  Name change to Coleville.  
Okaw  Kingman  1884-07-09  1905-03-15  Established in Harper County.  
Otego  Harper  1882-11-23  1885-02-27  Moved to Crisfield.  
Ruby  Harper  1902-05-13  1904-07-30   
Ruella  Harper  1884-07-17  1899-05-31   
Runnymede  Harper  1879-06-20  1944-12-31   
Sharon  Barber  1880-11-30  Open in 1961  Was also in Harper County for a time.  
Shook  Harper  1900-07-27  1900-11-28  [Order of change rescinded]  
Shook  Harper  1901-06-01  1925-07-15   
Sonora  Harper  1880-03-08  1888-05-25   
Sullivan  Harper  1885-12-15  1886-06-19   
Swan  Harper  1879-12-05  1880-02-27   
Waldron  Harper  1902-01-23  Open in 1961   
Yankton  Harper  1883-08-06  1884-10-14   

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page