Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Barton

Page 1 of 2 showing 50 records of 57 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Leoville  Barton  1880-04-23  1881-06-17  Moved to Nathan.  
Claflin  Barton  1887-05-27  Open in 1961   
Clarence  Barton  1874-10-26  1887-02-03  Moved to Bartholdi.  
Dundee  Barton  1881-10-03  1902-06-14   
Dundee  Barton  1915-03-12  1943-10-15   
Ellinwood  Barton  1872-08-05  Open in 1961   
Fort Zarah  Barton  1868-07-17  1870-01-07   
Fort Zarah  Barton  1871-06-15  1871-07-06  Name change to Zarah.  
Galatia  Barton  1889-06-03  1966-05-31   
Gere  Barton  1878-05-29  1887-12-15   
Great Bend  Barton  1872-01-31  Open in 1961   
Heizer  Barton  1891-03-20  1954-05-15  Name change from Heizerton.  
Heizerton  Barton  1887-04-04  1891-03-20  Name change to Heizer.  
Hoisington  Barton  1887-04-14  Open in 1961  Moved from Buena Vista.  
Cheyenne Bottom  Barton  1875-08-19  1877-08-10   
Lott  Barton  1880-03-16  1882-05-09   
Maherville  Barton  1874-06-22  1904-01-27  Name change to Boyd.  
Millard  Barton  1877-07-24  1906-08-31   
Nathan  Barton  1881-06-17  1887-02-09  Moved from Leoville.  
Odin  Barton  1877-05-21  1906-02-14   
Odin  Barton  1950-09-01  1995-08-19   
Olmitz  Barton  1881-04-11  Open in 1961   
Pawnee Rock  Barton  1872-08-28  Open in 1961   
Pride  Barton  1879-03-07  1883-09-18   
Putnam  Barton  1878-09-27  1883-04-27   
Redwing  Barton  1892-10-07  1896-10-15   
Redwing  Barton  1903-08-18  1955-07-31   
Thomas  Barton  1880-02-27  1882-11-21   
Verbeck  Barton  1878-02-25  1904-09-15   
Walnut Creek  Barton  1853-08-22  1855-09-22  Moved from Fort Atkinson.  
Walnut Creek  Barton  1856-12-24  1857-11-20  In 1853, the troops stationed at Fort Atkinson, on the Santa Fe Trail about six miles west of present-day Dodge City, were transferred to Walnut Creek (near present-day Great Bend and the post office changed names. The original name of Fort Atkinson was resumed in 1855.]  
Webb  Barton  1880-09-13  1889-08-31   
Zarah  Barton  1871-07-06  1873-04-02  Name change from Fort Zarah.  
Albert  Barton  1887-08-20  Open in 1961  Name change from Bartholdi.  
Bartholdi  Barton  1887-02-03  1887-08-20  Moved from Clarence. Name change to Albert.  
Beaver  Barton  1919-06-19  1992-12-26   
Bloomingdale  Barton  1876-09-19  1883-02-19   
Bonewitz  Barton  1882-05-15  1884-10-09   
Boyd  Barton  1904-01-27  1937-10-15  Name change from Maherville.  
Brooklyn  Barton  1883-11-09  1887-11-20   
Buena Vista  Barton  1879-01-29  1887-04-14  Moved to Hoisington.  
Fort Atkinson  Barton  1855-08-04  1857-06-05  Was also in Washington County for a time.  
Fort Zarah  Barton  1865-04-28  1868-01-28  Name change from Kiowa. Established in Marion County.  
Kiowa  Barton  1864-04-08  1865-04-28  Name change to Fort Zarah. Established in Peketon County. Was also in Marion County for a time.  
Stickney  Barton  1898-10-26  1913-03-31   
Susank  Barton  1921-06-24  1991-08-01   
State Center  Barton  1879-01-28  1894-04-14  Also spelled as State Centre.  
Alliance  Ellsworth  1881-05-03  1895-07-15  Established in Barton County.  
Peace Creek  Reno  1876-05-26  1905-07-31  Established in Barton County. Was also in Stafford County for a time (site moved).  
Dubuque  Russell  1879-02-17  1909-04-30  Established in Barton County.  
1 | 2

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page