Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Comanche

Page 1 of 1 showing 35 records of 35 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Smallwood  Comanche  1874-01-09  1875-05-21   
Banville  Comanche  1878-09-16  1881-10-05   
Evansville  Comanche  1882-04-19  1883-01-02   
Soldier Creek  Comanche  1878-04-16  1883-01-15   
Rumsey  Comanche  1884-07-23  1885-08-04  Moved to Evansville.  
Redbluff  Comanche  1884-08-11  1885-10-22   
Ship  Comanche  1885-08-04  1885-12-16  Name change to Shep.  
Oemoore  Comanche  1885-12-31  1886-06-19   
Santanta  Comanche  1885-01-13  1886-08-02  Moved to Comanche.  
Ursula  Kiowa  1885-07-22  1887-01-26  Established in Comanche County.  
Matsonville  Kiowa  1885-12-09  1887-02-19  Established in Comanche County.  
Gallagher  Comanche  1885-09-08  1887-10-15   
Nauvoo  Comanche  1886-02-10  1888-11-10   
Granger  Comanche  1885-12-31  1889-11-10   
Shep  Comanche  1885-12-16  1890-02-28  Name change from Ship.  
Glick  Kiowa  1883-03-16  1890-04-26  Name change to Belvidere. Established in Comanche County.  
Von  Comanche  1885-12-31  1890-05-15   
Comanche  Comanche  1886-08-02  1890-09-30  Moved from Santanta.  
Jenkins  Comanche  1885-12-31  1891-04-30   
Reeder  Kiowa  1885-01-16  1891-10-31  Established in Comanche County.  
Poppleton  Comanche  1885-09-08  1892-07-30   
Duckworth  Comanche  1885-12-31  1893-07-31   
Evansville  Comanche  1885-08-04  1893-09-30  Moved from Rumsey.  
Nescatunga  Comanche  1884-08-22  1894-12-15   
Avilla  Comanche  1884-10-20  1895-08-31   
Evansville  Comanche  1895-04-10  1896-08-15   
Mayo  Comanche  1886-03-24  1898-06-30   
Neweden  Comanche  1902-07-22  1902-11-12  [Order of change rescinded]  
Nickel  Kiowa  1886-01-14  1908-03-31  Established in Comanche County.  
Gallagher  Comanche  1905-04-05  1911-11-15   
Aetna  Barber  1885-08-27  1912-10-15  Was also in Comanche County for a time.  
Mayo  Comanche  1909-05-04  1927-03-15   
Protection  Comanche  1884-08-27  Open in 1961   
Coldwater  Comanche  1884-10-17  Open in 1961   
Wilmore  Comanche  1887-06-07  Open in 1961   

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page