Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Crawford

Page 1 of 2 showing 50 records of 73 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Cato  Crawford  1858-07-30  1859-11-23  Established in Bourbon County.  
Cato  Crawford  1860-10-25  1861-11-01   
Coxe's Creek  Crawford  1866-01-15  1867-04-23  Name change to Arcadia. Established in Bourbon County.  
Monmouth  Crawford  1866-07-17  1955-09-30  Established in Cherokee County.  
Walnut Creek  Crawford  1866-10-03  1871-03-29   
Osborn  Crawford  1867-04-17  1872-01-21  Established in Neosho County.  
Iowa City  Crawford  1867-04-23  1867-06-10   
Arcadia  Crawford  1867-04-23  Open in 1961  Name change from Coxe's Creek.  
Cato  Crawford  1867-06-17  1905-07-31   
Crawfordsville  Crawford  1867-10-18  1873-12-08   
Hamilton  Crawford  1868-09-30  1871-10-30   
Girard  Crawford  1868-09-30  Open in 1961   
Stevenstown  Crawford  1868-12-30  1877-06-04  Also known as Steventown. Name change to Olopolis.  
Mulberry Grove  Crawford  1869-06-15  1892-05-21  Name change to Mulberry.  
Hopefield  Crawford  1870-04-18  1876-08-28  Moved to New Pittsburgh.  
Iowa City  Crawford  1870-04-18  1877-08-20   
Idell  Crawford  1870-06-10  1901-02-14   
Base Line  Crawford  1870-06-13  1872-11-08   
Farlington  Crawford  1870-07-14  Open in 1961   
Cherokee  Crawford  1870-08-12  Open in 1961   
Midway  Crawford  1871-02-07  1878-03-15   
Mount Carmel  Crawford  1871-04-05  1895-07-15   
Hepler  Crawford  1871-06-02  Open in 1961   
Arnold  Crawford  1871-06-21  1872-02-26  Name change to Ingleton.  
Ingleton  Crawford  1872-02-26  1872-09-17  Name change from Arnold.  
Green Elm  Crawford  1872-04-25  1894-06-30   
Strongstown  Crawford  1873-03-26  1876-01-21  Moved to La Coy.  
Walnut Station  Crawford  1873-04-10  1877-04-04  Name change to Walnut.  
Greenbush  Crawford  1874-06-22  1901-05-15   
Beulah  Crawford  1874-12-31  1955-03-15   
Time  Crawford  1875-01-19  1878-08-12  Moved to McCune. Established in Cherokee County.  
La Coy  Crawford  1876-01-21  1883-01-05  Moved from Strongstown.  
New Pittsburgh  Crawford  1876-08-28  1881-06-01  Moved from Hopefield. Name change to Pittsburgh.  
Walnut  Crawford  1877-04-04  Open in 1961  Name change from Walnut Station.  
Olopolis  Crawford  1877-06-04  1877-07-05  Name change from Stevenstown. Name change to Opolis.  
Opolis  Crawford  1877-07-05  Open in 1961  Name change from Olopolis.  
Edwin  Crawford  1878-01-31  1881-05-09  Name change to Litchfield.  
McCune  Crawford  1878-08-12  Open in 1961  Moved from Time.  
Bovard  Crawford  1880-01-05  1880-01-19  Name change to Coalvale.  
Coalvale  Crawford  1880-01-19  1907-04-30  Name change from Bovard.  
Hadley  Crawford  1881-04-08  1894-09-29   
Litchfield  Crawford  1881-05-09  1903-07-15  Name change from Edwin.  
Pittsburgh  Crawford  1881-06-01  1894-03-06  Name change from New Pittsburgh. Name change to Pittsburg.  
Brazilton  Crawford  1882-10-05  1966-06-17   
Calvin  Crawford  1884-03-19  1891-01-14  Name change to Englevale.  
Lone Oak  Crawford  1884-10-20  1886-07-10   
Wilkie  Crawford  1885-03-02  1886-11-17   
Nyack  Crawford  1886-08-17  1887-05-11  Name change to Midway.  
Midway  Crawford  1887-05-11  1912-07-15  Name change from Nyack.  
Frontenac  Crawford  1887-06-23  1957-11-29   
1 | 2

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page