Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Grant

Page 1 of 1 showing 20 records of 20 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Laport  Grant  1886-11-23  1887-04-16  Name change to Shockey. Established in Hamilton County.  
Surprise  Grant  1886-03-17  1887-05-26  Moved to Tilden. Established in Hamilton County.  
Tilden  Grant  1887-05-26  1890-02-06  Moved from Surprise. Name change to Appomattox.  
Spurgeon  Grant  1887-09-03  1891-06-20   
Appomattox  Grant  1890-02-06  1894-11-15  Name change from Tilden.  
Liverpool  Grant  1888-03-02  1898-05-14  Established in Stanton County.  
Golden  Grant  1886-09-27  1899-05-15  Established in Hamilton County.  
Warrendale  Grant  1891-12-11  1901-08-15   
Zionville  Grant  1886-08-18  1901-09-30  Established in Hamilton County.  
Liverpool  Grant  1899-01-31  1903-05-30   
Zionville  Grant  1903-04-27  1905-02-28   
Shockey  Grant  1887-04-16  1906-09-29  Name change from Laport.  
Ulysses  Grant  1886-04-29  1909-07-15  Established in Hamilton County.  
Warrendale  Grant  1907-06-03  1916-04-29   
Doby  Grant  1908-07-07  1916-11-29   
New Ulysses  Grant  1909-04-02  1921-06-09  Name change to Ulysses.  
Athy  Grant  1916-09-05  1925-01-15   
Lawson  Grant  1887-08-26  1925-02-28   
Gognac  Grant  1886-06-09  1926-01-30  Established in Hamilton County. Was also in Stanton County for a time (site moved).  
Ulysses  Grant  1921-06-09  Open in 1961  Name change from New Ulysses.  

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page