Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Hodgeman

Page 1 of 1 showing 34 records of 34 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Hodgeman  Hodgeman  1875-02-08  1913-11-30   
Pawnee Valley  Hodgeman  1878-03-05  1894-06-30   
Marena  Hodgeman  1878-03-19  1883-08-10   
Arthur  Hodgeman  1878-07-11  1890-11-29  Established in Ness County.  
Middle Branch  Hodgeman  1878-08-15  1888-01-20   
Hodgeman Centre  Hodgeman  1879-02-14  1880-05-20  Moved to Jetmore.  
Fordham  Hodgeman  1879-02-24  1885-09-14  Name change to Orwell.  
Kidderville  Hodgeman  1879-05-19  1914-08-15   
Retreat  Hodgeman  1879-05-20  1879-10-29   
Buckner  Hodgeman  1880-03-15  1891-03-14   
Purdyville  Hodgeman  1880-04-13  1887-01-26   
Jetmore  Hodgeman  1880-05-20  Open in 1961  Moved from Hodgeman Centre.  
Cowland  Finney  1883-02-15  1886-09-25  Name change from Mason. Name change to Ravanna. Established in Gray County. Was also in Hodgeman County for a time.  
Sawlog  Hodgeman  1883-08-22  1884-02-04   
Marena  Hodgeman  1884-03-27  1894-07-23  Moved to Hanston.  
Cowboy  Ness  1884-09-22  1889-08-15  Established in Hodgeman County.  
Keroma  Hodgeman  1885-03-09  1887-03-08   
Wittrup  Hodgeman  1885-08-04  1913-04-15   
Ratcliff  Hodgeman  1885-08-14  1887-04-02   
Orwell  Hodgeman  1885-09-14  1888-11-10  Name change from Fordham.  
Laurel  Hodgeman  1886-02-26  1912-09-15   
Clawson  Finney  1886-06-19  1888-05-25  Established in Hodgeman County. Was also in Garfield County for a time.  
Kalvesta  Finney  1886-09-18  1998-10-03  Established in Hodgeman County. Was also in Garfield County for a time.  
Ravanna  Finney  1886-09-25  1899-01-16  Name change from Cowland. Established in Hodgeman County. Was also in Garfield County for a time.  
Milroy  Hodgeman  1887-08-30  1895-05-15   
Holbrook  Hodgeman  1887-09-20  1905-04-20  Name change to Hallet.  
Fullerton  Hodgeman  1889-02-12  1916-11-29   
Hanston  Hodgeman  1894-07-23  1897-07-01  Moved from Marena. Moved to Marena.  
Marena  Hodgeman  1897-07-01  1901-02-06  Moved from Hanston. Name change to Olney.  
Valley  Hodgeman  1898-05-27  1905-11-30   
Olney  Hodgeman  1901-02-06  1901-03-26  Name change from Marena. Name change to Hanston.  
Hanston  Hodgeman  1901-03-26  Open in 1961  Name change from Olney.  
Hallet  Hodgeman  1905-04-20  1920-04-20  Name change from Holbrook.  
Grayling  Hodgeman  1916-06-23  1924-03-31   

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page