Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Jackson

Page 1 of 1 showing 38 records of 38 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Straight Creek  Jackson  1911-03-11  1929-01-15   
Carl  Jackson  1893-03-03  1907-05-15   
Circleville  Jackson  1861-07-27  Open in 1961   
Cope  Jackson  1877-04-25  1887-09-05   
Delia  Jackson  1906-01-12  Open in 1961   
Denison  Jackson  1887-12-13  Open in 1961  Moved from North Cedar.  
Hoyt  Jackson  1871-01-09  Open in 1961   
James Crossing  Jackson  1862-04-10  1886-01-26   
Larkinburg  Jackson  1909-04-09  1963-03-01  Name change from Larkin.  
Lawndale  Jackson  1877-10-09  1882-10-12   
Mayetta  Jackson  1886-12-16  Open in 1961   
Nadeau  Jackson  1887-12-22  1913-06-15   
New Eureka  Jackson  1875-01-27  1877-02-13   
North Cedar  Jackson  1867-04-08  1887-12-13  Moved to Denison.  
Plum Station  Jackson  1868-08-26  1868-12-30   
Whiting  Jackson  1869-06-15  Open in 1961   
Woburn  Jackson  1870-12-08  1872-02-15   
Adrian  Jackson  1880-05-24  1907-06-15   
Avoca  Jackson  1871-01-31  1907-05-15   
Banner  Jackson  1866-02-15  1879-01-23   
Birmingham  Jackson  1888-04-09  1942-10-31   
Buck Grove  Jackson  1870-10-03  1881-05-05   
Calhoun  Jackson  1856-03-18  1858-06-07  Established in Calhoun County.  
Sullivan  Jackson  1880-05-10  1883-06-14   
Straight Creek  Jackson  1909-04-01  1910-12-15   
Carbon  Jackson  1874-03-09  1880-01-08   
Holton  Jackson  1858-08-05  Open in 1961  Established in Calhoun County.  
Larkin  Jackson  1872-09-26  1909-04-09  Name change to Larkinburg. Established in Atchison County.  
Netawaka  Jackson  1868-01-20  Open in 1961  Established in Brown County.  
New Eureka  Jackson  1858-09-17  1875-01-12  Established in Calhoun County. Was also in Brown County for a time.  
Ontario  Jackson  1862-09-12  1922-12-30  Established in Nemaha County.  
Smithland  Jackson  1867-07-12  1883-02-21  Name change to Soldier.  
Soldier  Jackson  1883-02-21  Open in 1961  Name change from Smithland.  
South Cedar  Jackson  1867-10-03  1904-11-14   
Straight Creek  Jackson  1888-01-19  1908-04-15   
Cross Creek  Shawnee  1864-12-09  1868-03-20  Established in Pottawatomie County. Was also in Jackson County for a time.  
Rossville  Shawnee  1862-01-29  Open in 1961  Was also in Jackson County for a time.  
Indianola  Shawnee  1855-12-21  1868-12-29  Moved from Loring. Established in Calhoun County. Was also in Jackson County for a time.  

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page