Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Lyon

Page 1 of 2 showing 50 records of 69 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Allen  Lyon  1855-02-26  1856-10-28  Was also in Breckinridge County for a time.  
Agnes City  Lyon  1856-11-01  1866-06-22  Established in Wise County. Was also in Breckinridge County for a time.  
Allen  Lyon  1857-02-19  1984-10-13   
Columbia  Lyon  1857-02-20  1857-09-19  Moved to Emporia. Established in Madison County. Was also in Breckinridge County for a time.  
Orleans  Lyon  1857-08-08  1859-12-15  Name change to Americus. Established in Breckinridge County.  
Emporia  Lyon  1857-09-19  Open in 1961  Moved from Columbia. Established in Breckinridge County.  
Hartford  Lyon  1857-11-07  Open in 1961  Established in Madison County. Was also in Breckinridge County for a time.  
Waushara  Lyon  1858-01-25  1862-12-20  Established in Breckinridge County.  
Italia  Lyon  1858-02-02  1863-02-27  Name change to Neosho Rapids. Established in Madison County. Was also in Breckinridge County for a time.  
Plymouth  Lyon  1858-02-10  1930-12-31  Established in Breckinridge County.  
Waterloo  Lyon  1858-06-30  1874-06-09  Established in Breckinridge County.  
Forest Hill  Lyon  1858-11-01  1865-09-04  Established in Breckinridge County.  
Decora  Lyon  1859-07-21  1862-08-26  Also spelled Decorrah. Established in Breckinridge County.  
Americus  Lyon  1859-12-15  1864-12-23  Name change from Orleans. Name change to Sheridan. Established in Breckinridge County.  
Fremont  Lyon  1860-04-11  1867-02-13  Established in Breckinridge County.  
Elmendaro  Lyon  1860-09-19  1870-10-19  Also spelled Elmandaro. Established in Madison County. Was also in Breckinridge County for a time.  
Neosho Rapids  Lyon  1863-02-27  Open in 1961  Name change from Italia.  
Waushara  Lyon  1863-08-26  1864-08-01   
Waushara  Lyon  1864-09-16  1895-07-15   
Sheridan  Lyon  1864-12-23  1866-11-19  Name change from Americus. Name change to Americus.  
Forest Hill  Lyon  1865-11-01  1871-11-02   
Americus  Lyon  1866-11-19  Open in 1961  Name change from Sheridan.  
Eagle Creek  Lyon  1870-03-25  1873-04-23   
Rock Creek  Lyon  1870-04-15  1871-10-17   
Cross  Lyon  1870-04-15  1871-10-16   
Bunker Hill  Lyon  1870-06-13  1870-10-18   
Harrisburgh  Lyon  1870-07-14  1871-10-03   
Reading  Lyon  1870-08-24  Open in 1961   
Patty's Mill  Lyon  1870-08-25  1871-07-21   
Fremont  Lyon  1870-08-30  1873-11-03   
Agnes City  Lyon  1871-06-15  1891-06-30   
Ivy  Lyon  1871-07-19  1896-08-31   
Lena Valley  Lyon  1872-06-10  1887-12-10  Established in Greenwood County.  
Dow Creek  Lyon  1873-03-17  1874-09-23   
Badger Creek  Lyon  1873-03-20  1876-03-09   
Fremont  Lyon  1876-05-04  1878-05-08   
Badger Creek  Lyon  1876-05-19  1896-12-31   
Foster Springs  Lyon  1878-04-11  1879-08-01   
Eads  Lyon  1878-06-14  1884-09-16   
Plumb  Lyon  1878-06-14  1896-03-31   
Line  Greenwood  1879-04-18  1878-06-06  Established in Lyon County.  
Stotler  Lyon  1880-01-05  1900-08-31   
Bitlertown  Lyon  1880-01-23  1884-04-14  Name change to Olpe.  
Air  Lyon  1880-02-25  1888-03-15   
Dell  Lyon  1881-05-03  1883-01-22   
Verdigris  Lyon  1881-05-16  1903-12-31   
Trail  Lyon  1882-03-03  1887-06-02   
Hortonburg  Lyon  1882-05-31  1900-01-20  Also known as Hortonville. Name change to Lang.  
Ewing  Lyon  1883-04-12  1887-12-15   
Olpe  Lyon  1884-04-14  1884-07-01  Name change from Bitlertown. Name change to Bitlertown.  
1 | 2

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page