Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Lyon

Page 1 of 2 showing 50 records of 69 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Allen  Lyon  1855-02-26  1856-10-28  Was also in Breckinridge County for a time.  
Columbia  Lyon  1857-02-20  1857-09-19  Moved to Emporia. Established in Madison County. Was also in Breckinridge County for a time.  
Orleans  Lyon  1857-08-08  1859-12-15  Name change to Americus. Established in Breckinridge County.  
Decora  Lyon  1859-07-21  1862-08-26  Also spelled Decorrah. Established in Breckinridge County.  
Waushara  Lyon  1858-01-25  1862-12-20  Established in Breckinridge County.  
Italia  Lyon  1858-02-02  1863-02-27  Name change to Neosho Rapids. Established in Madison County. Was also in Breckinridge County for a time.  
Waushara  Lyon  1863-08-26  1864-08-01   
Americus  Lyon  1859-12-15  1864-12-23  Name change from Orleans. Name change to Sheridan. Established in Breckinridge County.  
Forest Hill  Lyon  1858-11-01  1865-09-04  Established in Breckinridge County.  
Agnes City  Lyon  1856-11-01  1866-06-22  Established in Wise County. Was also in Breckinridge County for a time.  
Sheridan  Lyon  1864-12-23  1866-11-19  Name change from Americus. Name change to Americus.  
Fremont  Lyon  1860-04-11  1867-02-13  Established in Breckinridge County.  
Bunker Hill  Lyon  1870-06-13  1870-10-18   
Elmendaro  Lyon  1860-09-19  1870-10-19  Also spelled Elmandaro. Established in Madison County. Was also in Breckinridge County for a time.  
Patty's Mill  Lyon  1870-08-25  1871-07-21   
Harrisburgh  Lyon  1870-07-14  1871-10-03   
Cross  Lyon  1870-04-15  1871-10-16   
Rock Creek  Lyon  1870-04-15  1871-10-17   
Forest Hill  Lyon  1865-11-01  1871-11-02   
Eagle Creek  Lyon  1870-03-25  1873-04-23   
Fremont  Lyon  1870-08-30  1873-11-03   
Waterloo  Lyon  1858-06-30  1874-06-09  Established in Breckinridge County.  
Dow Creek  Lyon  1873-03-17  1874-09-23   
Badger Creek  Lyon  1873-03-20  1876-03-09   
Fremont  Lyon  1876-05-04  1878-05-08   
Line  Greenwood  1879-04-18  1878-06-06  Established in Lyon County.  
Foster Springs  Lyon  1878-04-11  1879-08-01   
Dell  Lyon  1881-05-03  1883-01-22   
Bitlertown  Lyon  1880-01-23  1884-04-14  Name change to Olpe.  
Olpe  Lyon  1884-04-14  1884-07-01  Name change from Bitlertown. Name change to Bitlertown.  
Eads  Lyon  1878-06-14  1884-09-16   
Bitlertown  Lyon  1884-07-01  1885-03-20  Name change from Olpe. Name change to Olpe.  
Olpe  Lyon  1885-03-20  1885-11-02  Name change from Bitlertown. Name change to Bitlertown.  
Bitlertown  Lyon  1885-11-02  1887-04-06  Name change from Olpe. Name change to Olpe.  
Trail  Lyon  1882-03-03  1887-06-02   
Lena Valley  Lyon  1872-06-10  1887-12-10  Established in Greenwood County.  
Ewing  Lyon  1883-04-12  1887-12-15   
Air  Lyon  1880-02-25  1888-03-15   
Dell  Lyon  1885-07-27  1890-10-15   
Agnes City  Lyon  1871-06-15  1891-06-30   
Fouse  Lyon  1890-06-14  1895-06-20  [Never in operation]  
Waushara  Lyon  1864-09-16  1895-07-15   
Plumb  Lyon  1878-06-14  1896-03-31   
Ivy  Lyon  1871-07-19  1896-08-31   
Badger Creek  Lyon  1876-05-19  1896-12-31   
Hortonburg  Lyon  1882-05-31  1900-01-20  Also known as Hortonville. Name change to Lang.  
Stotler  Lyon  1880-01-05  1900-08-31   
Air  Lyon  1888-03-22  1900-10-15   
Menda  Lyon  1900-07-20  1901-04-13   
Fourmile  Lyon  1900-07-20  1901-04-13   
1 | 2

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page