Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Shawnee

Page 1 of 2 showing 50 records of 65 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Burlingame  Osage  1858-01-30  Open in 1961  Name change from Council City. Established in Shawnee County.  
Elk Creek  Osage  1857-10-27  1858-05-10  Moved to Ridgeway. Established in Shawnee County.  
Richardson  Osage  1855-01-09  1874-09-29  Established in Shawnee County.  
Ridgeway  Osage  1858-05-10  1900-10-20  Moved from Elk Creek. Established in Shawnee County.  
Council City  Osage  1855-04-30  1858-01-30  Name change to Burlingame. Established in Shawnee County.  
Walton  Osage  1858-10-23  1864-06-09  Established in Shawnee County.  
Hallet  Shawnee  1855-03-15  1855-06-02  Name change to Silver Lake.  
Highland Park  Shawnee  1890-02-28  1894-06-20  [Never in operation]  
Hygienic  Shawnee  1901-12-05  1903-08-15   
Kilmer  Shawnee  1886-02-05  1900-09-15   
Kingsville  Shawnee  1873-02-06  1914-04-30   
Lynn Creek  Shawnee  1872-10-09  1874-10-16   
Mairestown  Shawnee  1857-12-08  1862-12-16   
Menoken  Shawnee  1877-04-17  1910-01-15   
Mission  Shawnee  1871-06-27  1872-04-17   
North Topeka  Shawnee  1870-12-12  1879-09-08  Name change from Eugene.  
Oakland  Shawnee  1888-09-25  1910-08-31   
Pauline  Shawnee  1872-02-09  1973-11-30  In 1973, Pauline became a classified station within the Topeka post office. Station still open as of 2003.  
Plowboy  Shawnee  1871-08-08  1882-04-24  Name change to Redpath.  
Quinton Heights  Shawnee  1889-11-13  1895-06-15   
Redpath  Shawnee  1882-04-24  1884-02-04  Name change from Plowboy.  
Richland  Shawnee  1857-06-01  Open in 1961   
Tecumseh  Shawnee  1855-03-03  Open in 1961   
Tevis  Shawnee  1887-02-02  1909-06-30   
Topeka  Shawnee  1855-03-03  Open in 1961   
Union Town  Shawnee  1856-02-20  1856-08-28   
Valencia  Shawnee  1878-03-15  1933-12-30   
Vidette  Shawnee  1885-03-03  1898-05-31   
Wagner  Shawnee  1880-03-08  1880-07-12   
Wah Wah Suk  Shawnee  1870-05-09  1871-02-24   
Wakarusa  Shawnee  1870-07-01  Open in 1961  Moved from Williamsport.  
Wanamaker  Shawnee  1889-11-18  1903-12-14   
Watson  Shawnee  1883-09-03  1899-07-15   
Waveland  Shawnee  1862-06-23  1900-11-10   
Whitfield  Shawnee  1855-03-15  1856-05-21   
Whitfield  Shawnee  1892-04-26  1899-12-15   
Willard  Shawnee  1887-06-21  1959-07-31  Moved from Post Creek.  
Williamsport  Shawnee  1858-03-12  1860-07-06   
Williamsport  Shawnee  1863-05-22  1870-07-01  Moved to Wakarusa.  
Auburn  Shawnee  1859-03-07  Open in 1961  Name change from Brownsville.  
Berryton  Shawnee  1888-05-07  Open in 1961   
Blacksmith  Shawnee  1871-07-19  1872-11-11  Name change from Centre Grove.  
Brownsville  Shawnee  1856-02-13  1859-03-07  Name change to Auburn.  
Quinton Heights  Shawnee  1897-01-29  1899-12-30   
Cross Creek  Shawnee  1864-12-09  1868-03-20  Established in Pottawatomie County. Was also in Jackson County for a time.  
Grand Haven  Shawnee  1875-10-26  1901-04-13  Established in Osage County.  
Indianola  Shawnee  1855-12-21  1868-12-29  Moved from Loring. Established in Calhoun County. Was also in Jackson County for a time.  
Loring  Shawnee  1855-03-15  1855-12-21  Moved to Indianola. Established in Calhoun County.  
Rossville  Shawnee  1862-01-29  Open in 1961  Was also in Jackson County for a time.  
Saw-Qua  Shawnee  1871-01-24  1873-04-23  Also known as Saw-Gua.  
1 | 2

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page