Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Wichita

Page 1 of 1 showing 22 records of 22 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Bonasa  Wichita  1886-01-07  1887-02-19  Name change to Leoti.  
Coronado  Wichita  1886-02-10  1899-09-15   
Washburn  Wichita  1886-05-06  1890-10-15   
Halcyon  Wichita  1886-07-22  1894-10-15   
Saint Theresa  Wichita  1886-11-15  1904-07-15   
Wilkinson  Wichita  1887-01-26  1894-10-31  Established in St. John County. Was also in Logan County for a time (site moved).  
Ainsworth  Greeley  1887-02-19  1898-02-28  Established in Wichita County.  
Leoti  Wichita  1887-02-19  Open in 1961  Name change from Bonasa.  
Selkirk  Wichita  1887-02-19  1906-11-15   
Lydia  Wichita  1888-01-21  1928-10-31  Was also in Kearny County for a time (site moved).  
Madeline  Wichita  1888-04-21  1891-12-31   
Proof  Wichita  1888-05-21  1894-12-15   
Conquest  Kearny  1888-06-19  1919-12-15  Established in Wichita County.  
Kepple  Wichita  1888-07-21  1908-05-31   
Carwood  Wichita  1889-12-23  1916-10-14   
Halcyon  Wichita  1895-01-07  1895-02-27  [Order of change rescinded]  
Marienthal  Wichita  1902-03-18  Open in 1961   
Wilkinson  Wichita  1904-02-27  1905-03-31   
Sunnyside  Wichita  1906-11-07  1916-07-31   
Selkirk  Wichita  1907-08-01  1908-10-15   
Saint Theresa  Wichita  1908-01-16  1916-04-29   
Selkirk  Wichita  1909-10-09  1980-08-09   

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page