Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Woodson

Page 1 of 1 showing 37 records of 37 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Mount Airy  Woodson  1860-06-19  1864-03-02   
Liberty  Woodson  1867-03-25  1869-03-29   
Bath  Woodson  1861-07-09  1869-07-15  Moved to Chellis.  
Chellis  Woodson  1869-07-15  1871-03-20  Moved from Bath. Name change to Kalida.  
Hazelettville  Woodson  1869-07-15  1872-05-17   
Miller's Grove  Woodson  1869-06-29  1873-06-02  Moved to Everett.  
Bramlette  Woodson  1871-12-01  1874-10-26   
Kalida  Woodson  1871-03-20  1876-06-12  Name change from Chellis. Name change to Yates Center.  
Cherry Creek  Woodson  1870-02-24  1878-01-15   
Belmont  Woodson  1857-09-21  1878-01-23   
Everett  Woodson  1873-06-02  1880-02-27  Moved from Miller's Grove.  
Hamburgh  Allen  1879-09-16  1883-07-12  Established in Woodson County.  
Claude  Woodson  1884-06-06  1884-07-23   
Defiance  Woodson  1874-05-01  1886-05-21   
Rose  Woodson  1870-06-10  1886-11-03   
Everett  Woodson  1880-04-13  1887-01-31  Moved to Vernon.  
Claude  Woodson  1884-09-22  1891-10-31   
Wortley  Woodson  1891-01-16  1894-10-31   
Center Ridge  Woodson  1871-01-09  1894-12-20  Also spelled Centre Ridge Name change to Ridge.  
Myra  Woodson  1884-03-03  1895-03-31   
Juse  Woodson  1884-07-31  1896-01-10  Name change to Keck.  
Byron  Woodson  1870-02-24  1896-05-30   
Griffin  Woodson  1890-11-14  1901-11-30  Established in Allen County.  
Coloma  Woodson  1865-04-13  1902-01-31   
Finney  Woodson  1880-08-04  1902-01-31   
Lomando  Woodson  1895-02-28  1903-12-31   
Cookville  Woodson  1879-05-20  1904-01-14   
Ridge  Woodson  1894-12-20  1904-01-30  Name change from Center Ridge.  
Conger  Woodson  1900-08-24  1904-10-31   
Keck  Woodson  1896-02-10  1907-10-15  Name change from Juse.  
Burt  Woodson  1884-07-31  1907-10-15   
Vernon  Woodson  1887-01-31  1953-08-15  Moved from Everett.  
Rose  Woodson  1887-08-31  1960-04-30   
Yates Center  Woodson  1876-06-12  Open in 1961  Name change from Kalida.  
Neosho Falls  Woodson  1857-05-21  Open in 1961   
Toronto  Woodson  1870-06-02  Open in 1961  Moved from Pleasant Grove.  
Piqua  Woodson  1882-03-13  Open in 1961   

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page