Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: Eagle
County: Any/All

Page 1 of 1 showing 6 records of 6 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Eagle  Barber  1890-05-13  1908-09-30   
Eagle  Pottawatomie  1871-01-31  1874-12-04  Name change to Laclede.  
Eagle Bend  Clay  1871-02-27  1872-08-02   
Eagle Creek  Lyon  1870-03-25  1873-04-23   
Eagle Creek  Rooks  1878-10-22  1884-10-23  Name change to Laton.  
Eagle Rapids  Smith  1877-03-20  1887-12-31   

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page