Jump to Navigation

National and State Registers of Historic Places

Results of Query:

Records: All Properties

New Search

Page 1 of 167 showing 10 records of 1661 total, starting on record 1
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9


Lyman Christy Farmstead

Picture of property 9001 Christy Rd.
Meriden (Jefferson County)
Listed in State Register 2018-11-17

Architect: Lyman Christy
Category: agricultural outbuilding; animal facility; irrigation facility

The Lyman Christy Farmstead is northwest of Meriden in Jefferson County, Kansas at 9001 Christy Road. Lyman Christy purchased his 160-acre farm in two land sales: the first 80 acres in 1879, and the second 80 acres in 1880. Today, the farmstead’s six contributing buildings sit on a 22-acre piece of the original homestead. The bank barn, built in 1892, is the most notable of the farmstead’s buildings. Near the barn lies a historic loafing shed, chicken coop, oil house, and tool shed. All contribute to the historic integrity of the farmstead. There is also a hay shed, garage, three grain bins and a ranch house, all considered non-contributing resources. The Lyman Christy Farmstead retains a high level of integrity of location, setting, materials, design, workmanship, feeling, and association. The property is nominated as a Farmstead property type described in the “Historic Agriculture-related Resources of Kansas” Multiple Property Documentation Form. The property’s period of significance begins in 1892 with the building of the barn to 1951 when the farm was no longer used for subsistence farming.



Martin Farmstead

Picture of property 31943 and 31860 W 247th St.
Paola (Miami County)
Listed in State Register 2018-11-17

Architect: Not listed
Category: agricultural outbuilding; animal facility; domestic; secondary structure; single dwelling; processing; Agricultural District

The Martin Farmstead is in the northwest corner of Miami County in the Paola vicinity at 31943 and 31860 West 247th Street. The property nomination includes two separate farms, the Endock Martin Farm and the Montie Martin Farm, that were combined once Montie Martin took ownership of both farmsteads in 1924. The farmstead consists of sixteen resources including on contributing site (the farmstead), nine contributing buildings, three contributing structures (the windmill and silos), two non-contributing buildings, and one non-contributing structure. The farmstead was nominated under the Multiple Property Documentation Form “Historic Agriculture-Related Resources of Kansas” with a period of significance established from 1879 when Endock Martin acquired the northeast farm through 1964 with the death of Montie Martin who acquired the southwest farm in 1910.



1873 Ellsworth County Jail

Picture of property 6 North Court Street
Ellsworth (Ellsworth County)
Listed in State Register 2003-05-10

Architect: Not listed
Category: correctional facility



1927 Hillsboro Water Tower

Picture of property Lots 10 & 11, Block 2, Hill's Second Addition
Hillsboro (Marion County)
Listed in National Register 2011-08-13

Architect: Pittsburgh-Des Moines Steel Company
Category: public works

The 1927 Hillsboro Water Tower was constructed as part of Hillsboro's first municipal water and sewer system. The first efforts toward a municipal fire protection system in Hillsboro came in 1888, when the city purchased a man-powered water pump. This $700 implement, which consisted of a tank, pump and hose mounted on a two-wheeled wagon, required eight to ten volunteers to operate it. In an 1897 fire that threatened John G. Hill's Badger Lumber Company, the apparatus proved no better than a bucket brigade. This equipment was used until 1900, when - at the apparent urging of Mayor Hill, who had just lost his coal sheds to fire - the city purchased new equipment. In 1912, the year the city established its first fire department, the city's "water system" consisted of wells and cisterns with a capacity of 11,000 gallons. Without adequate water pressure, all the equipment and firemen in the world proved futile against the inevitable infernos - and a dependably clean water supply would have been impossible. Hillsboro's citizens voted in favor of a bond issue in 1926 and a comprehensive water project was completed in 1927. The 75,000-gallon steel-plated water tower was nominated for its local significance in the area of community planning and development.



20th Century Club

Picture of property 536 N. Broadway
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in State Register 2006-05-13

Architect: Lorentz Schmidt
Category: civic meeting hall

This building was nominated for its architecture and its association with a women's social organization that was significant for its contribution to the promotion of the arts. Originally constructed as the residence of Judge Snakey in 1887, two additions have been made to the original two-and-one half story Queen Anne home. The first addition, done in the Commercial style, was completed in 1925. In 1931, George Siedhoff was hired as the contractor for an Art Deco addition designed by Lorenz Schmidt. Louise Caldwell Murdock founded the 20th Century Club as a part of the Chautauqua movement in January 1899. The 20th Century Club grew from 110 members at its inception to over 1,500 members in 1963. The club purchased the Judge Snakey home in 1923 to use as a permanent clubhouse. The 20th Century club continually worked to promote performing arts, literature, and science in Wichita.



800 West Douglas Block

Picture of property 809, 811 and 815 W Douglas
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register 2004-10-22

Architect: Unknown
Category: specialty store; commerce; business

The 800 West Douglas Historic District (809, 811, and 815 West Douglas) in Wichita was nominated for its association with the early town of Delano, located just west across the Arkansas River from Wichita. In 1880, Delano was incorporated into the City of Wichita as its fifth ward. Today the area is known as "West Wichita." Between 1887 and 1906 construction of the three contiguous, two-story commercial/residential buildings by prominent business men, Christian Kimmerle, Fred W. Israel, and L. Frank Means, helped turn Delano into a thriving commercial district during the first two decades of the 20th century. The 800 West Douglas Block is one of the only remaining pieces of the once thriving Delano commercial district.



900 Block North Seventh Street Historic District

Picture of property 901, 905, 907, 909, 911 North 7th Street
Garden City (Finney County)
Listed in National Register 1998-09-18

Architect: Not listed
Category: single dwelling

The 900 block of North 7th Street in Garden City developed during the early 20th century into one of the city's finest residential areas, and it reflects the growth of this ranching, agricultural, and industrial community. Local bankers, lawyers, merchants and ranchers flocked to the North 7th Street neighborhood to build their homes. The neighborhood is locally known as Silk Stocking Row because of the saying around town that the people living on 7th Street were the only ones who could afford silk stockings. The small district includes five single-family residences that reflect a variety of turn-of-the-century architectural styles including Queen Anne, Colonial Revival, and Four Square.



A. L. Wynkoop House

Picture of property 307 W. Pennsylvania
Highland (Doniphan County)
Listed in National Register 2007-04-04

Architect: Not listed
Category: single dwelling
Thematic Nomination: Historic Resources of Highland

The A. L. Wynkoop House is locally significant as a vernacular adaptation of the Prairie style built in 1912 by local craftsman Ely Saunders. Saunders was one of Highland's most wealthy merchants in the early 1900s. He was also responsible for the construction and likely the design of many traditional buildings in and around Highland, including the elementary and high schools, as well as the Highland Christian Church.



ATSF Motive Power Building

Picture of property 1001 NE Atchison
Topeka (Shawnee County)
Listed in National Register 2012-01-20

Architect: Santa Fe Railroad
Category: business

The ATSF Motive Power Building was constructed in 1910 and expanded in 1930 to serve as offices to the adjacent Santa Fe Railroad shops. The turn of the century represented a new era for Santa Fe when Topeka citizens supported the relocation of the shops to the Oakland neighborhood in 1902. When completed, the investment was nearly $400,000 and employed 3,000 men and the shops covered nearly 120 acres. Many workers lived in the surrounding area and the availability of railroad jobs is partially attributed to the influx of Mexican immigrants to Oakland. In addition to housing offices, the Motive Power Building functioned as a sort of community center for shop employees and their families. An auditorium on the top floor was used for social activities and even included performances by the Santa Fe employees' band. The shops evolved to meet the railroad's changing needs as it transitioned from steam to diesel power and terminated passenger service. The Motive Power Building closed its doors in 2002. The four-story building features an exposed concrete structure and a simplified, symmetrical facade reflective of the Commercial style with applied Classical Revival ornament. It is nominated in the area of commerce.



ATSF Steam Locomotive #3415

Picture of property 411 S Elm Street
Abilene (Dickinson County)
Listed in National Register 2012-04-16

Architect: Baldwin Locomotive Works (Eddystone, PA)
Category: museum; outdoor recreation; rail-related

The ATSF Steam Locomotive #3415 is a Class 3400 Pacific-type 4-6-2 passenger engine built by Baldwin Locomotive Works in 1919. The 4-6-2 designation refers to the engine's wheel arrangement - the first number notes the number of leading wheels, the second number notes the number of driver wheels, and the third number notes the number of trailing wheels. This engine originally burned coal, but was converted to oil burning in the 1930s. It was operated by the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railroad for 34 years and was donated to the City of Abilene in 1955. It sat in Eisenhower Park until 1996 when it was removed from the park for restoration. The locomotive is now situated on an abandoned segment of the Rock Island Railroad track that is used by the Abilene-Smoky Valley Railroad, a not-for-profit organization that operates a railroad museum and excursion train. When not in use, the locomotive is stored in the engine house at 411 South Elm Street in Abilene. It is one of only three 4-6-2 3400 class Pacific-type steam locomotives remaining in Kansas, and the only member of the class that is operational.



1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9

New Search