Jump to Navigation

National and State Registers of Historic Places

Results of Query:

County: Jefferson
Records: All Properties

New Search

Page 2 of 2 showing 4 records of 14 total, starting on record 11
1 | 2

Sunnyside School

Picture of property 1121 Republic Road
Sarcoxie Township (Jefferson County)
Listed in National Register 2011-01-18

Architect: John Haskell; Louis Wood
Category: school; clubhouse; meeting hall
Thematic Nomination: Historic Public Schools of Kansas

Sunnyside School is located on a rural one-acre parcel in Sarcoxie Township in the southern part of Jefferson County. The wood-frame building features a rectangular form and a front-gable roof and has a rather elaborate front elevation with two entrances flanking a set of round-arch windows. Built in about 1879, the school is patterned after a design by early Kansas architects John Haskell and Louis M. H. Wood that was published in the Second Biennial Report of the Kansas Department of Public Instruction. At least one other extant school mimics this same design - the White Chapel School in Pottawatomie County. The building was nominated as part of the "Historic Public Schools of Kansas" multiple property listing for its association with local education and its architecture.

The John Steuart Curry Boyhood Home

Picture of property Old Jefferson Town, US-59
Oskaloosa (Jefferson County)
Listed in State Register 1997-08-23

Architect: Not listed
Category: single dwelling

Union Block

Picture of property southwest corner, Delaware and Jefferson
Oskaloosa (Jefferson County)
Listed in National Register 1973-04-23

Architect: Not listed
Category: financial institution; professional

Wellman Schoolhouse (District #79)

Picture of property 703 Walnut St.
Oskaloosa (Jefferson County)
Listed in State Register 2017-05-13

Architect: George Snyder
Category: school

Summary: The Wellman Schoolhouse served the students of District #79 in Jefferson County’s Sarcoxie Township from the time of its construction in 1887, on land owned by stockman Harrison Wellman, until 1951 when the school closed. In 1970 the building was relocated to Old Jefferson Town to be part of the building collection established in Oskaloosa to showcase the built history of the county.

1 | 2

New Search