Jump to Navigation

National and State Registers of Historic Places

Results of Query:

County: Douglas
Records: All Properties

New Search

Page 6 of 11 showing 10 records of 110 total, starting on record 51
2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10


Lecompton Constitution Hall

Picture of property 319 Elmore
Lecompton (Douglas County)
Listed in National Register 1971-05-14

National Historic Landmark, 5/30/1974

Architect: unknown
Category: meeting hall

During 1857 this building was one of the busiest and most important in Kansas Territory. Thousands of settlers and speculators filed claims in the United States land office on the first floor. Upstairs the district court periodically met to try to enforce the territorial laws. The Lecompton Constitutional Convention met that fall in the second-floor assembly room to draft a constitution to gain statehood for Kansas. Newspaper correspondents from across the country gathered to report on the meetings. Many Americans feared a national civil war if the convention could not satisfy both proslavery and antislavery forces. They created a document that protected slavery no matter how the people of Kansas Territory voted. Eventually the Lecompton Constitution was defeated at the national level. It never went into effect. The building is owned by the State of Kansas and managed by the Kansas Historical Society.



Ludington House

Picture of property 1613 Tennessee
Lawrence (Douglas County)
Listed in National Register 1971-05-14

Architect: Not listed
Category: single dwelling



Mackie, George K., House

Picture of property 1941 Massachusetts St
Lawrence (Douglas County)
Listed in National Register 2009-07-08

Architect: Drake, H. Alexander
Category: single dwelling; clubhouse
Thematic Nomination: Historic Resources of Lawrence (2001)

George Mackie commissioned this impressive Neoclassical Revival-style residence in 1917. It is located on a large corner lot south of downtown Lawrence on Massachusetts Street. Mackie’s family first settled in Cherokee County in 1883 when he was just 15 years old. He grew up around the coal-mining industry, and in 1906, he organized the George K. Mackie Fuel Company. The Mackie-Clemens Coal Company is still in business in Crawford County. In 1937, Mackie's widow sold the house to the Lawrence Women's Club, which used it as a place for social gatherings and meetings until 1975. The house, designed by H. Alexander Drake of Kansas City, is a textbook example of the Neoclassical Revival style and includes such features as a monumental portico, side wing porch, roofline and front porch balustrades, and heavy window and door surrounds. It was nominated as part of the "Historic Resources of Lawrence" multiple property lubmission for its architectural significance.



Marion Springs Elementary School

Picture of property 316 E 900 Rd
Baldwin City vicinity (Douglas County)
Listed in National Register 2018-09-14

Architect: Radotinsky, Joseph
Category: school
Thematic Nomination: Historic Public Schools of Kansas

The Marion Springs School is significant for its association with rural school consolidation in Douglas County. The Marion Springs School has the characteristics of a Country School, specifically the Country Two- (or more) Teacher Consolidated School sub-type. The school’s location in rural Douglas County also fits well with the description of a Country School, as these schools were typically built on section corners at two-mile intervals reflecting the walking distance of children. Consolidated schools were located in rural communities and were often the first move to a graded school system from earlier one-teacher schoolhouses. The building is also significant for its association with architect Joseph Radotinsky as an example of the Modern Movement style. The school was incorporated into the Baldwin City school district in 1966. National Register listing is pending.



Martin, Handel T., House

Picture of property 1709 Louisiana Street
Lawrence (Douglas County)
Listed in National Register 2014-10-08

Architect: Unknown
Category: single dwelling
Thematic Nomination: Historic Resources of Lawrence (2001)

The Handel T. Martin house, built in 1917, is located in the University Place neighborhood on the south slope of Mount Oread in Lawrence. The residence is a well-preserved example of the American Foursquare, a house type commonly found in early 20th century neighborhoods in Lawrence. It features typical Classical and Colonial Revival embellishments. Martin was a long-time employee of the University of Kansas, working as an instructor and a curator at the Natural History Museum from 1912 to 1931. He was an early fossil collector and contributor to the emerging field of vertebrate paleontology in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Martin partnered with KU archeologist T. R. Overton to excavate the highly significant Twelve Mile Creek site in Logan County, Kansas in 1895, an excavation considered to be the first systematically excavated Paleoindian site. Martin lived in this residence south of campus until his death in 1931. It is nominated as part of the "Historic Resources of Lawrence, Douglas County, Kansas" multiple property nomination for its association with Martin and its local significance in the area of architecture.



McCurdy, Witter S., House

Picture of property 909 West 6th Street
Lawrence (Douglas County)
Listed in National Register 2001-10-21

Architect: unknown
Category: single dwelling



Miller, Robert H., House

Picture of property 1111 East 19th Street
Lawrence (Douglas County)
Listed in National Register 1984-06-14

Architect: Johnston
Category: agricultural outbuilding; secondary structure; single dwelling



Morse, Dr. Frederic D., House

Picture of property 1041 Tennessee Street
Lawrence (Douglas County)
Listed in National Register 1991-04-18

Architect: unknown
Category: single dwelling



Mugan-Olmsted House

Picture of property 819 Avalon Rd.
Lawrence (Douglas County)
Listed in National Register 2017-03-27

Architect: Patrick Mugan
Category: single dwelling
Thematic Nomination: Historic Resources of Lawrence (2001)

The Mugan-Olmsted House is significant as an example of a residence that evolved during development patterns associated with the growth of Lawrence between 1866 and 1956. Patrick Mugan, a trained stonemason, built the first portion of the house around 1866 as a gable-front dwelling. The house was soon expanded, taking on a gable-front-and-wing form. This form was a common building type in the mid-1800s and the two-story version was mostly popular in the northeastern and midwestern states. The Mugan-Olmsted House is atypical in this form due to its construction of stone rather than wood, which was more common. The house continued to change through its ownership by the Mugan and Olmsted families, acquiring a front porch, south sunporch, interior bathrooms, and millwork.



North Rhode Island St Historic Residential District

Picture of property 700-1144, 901-1047, 1201-1215 Rhode Island St.
Lawrence (Douglas County)
Listed in National Register 2004-07-14

Architect: Not listed
Category: domestic; meeting hall
Thematic Nomination: Historic Resources of Lawrence (2001)



2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10

New Search