Jump to Navigation

Student photo contest - 2016

Happy Birthday, Kansas! Student Photo Contest

Making a Difference in Your Kansas Community - Presented January 27, 2017

Congratulations to the 24 Happy Birthday, Kansas! contest winners announced at the Kansas Day celebration! We would like to thank our presenters Kansas Insurance Commissioner Ken Selzer, and Marearl Denning and Diane Macheers with the legislative spouses. Attorney General Derek Schmidt gave opening remarks, Congresswoman Lynn Jenkins was our special guest, along with state senators and representatives, and the University of Kansas Chamber Singers. Jennie Chinn, Kansas Historical Society executive director, was emcee. We also thank the students who entered 406 photos from 36 Kansas counties!

Student winners:

First grade

tyson Habhab and Noah Hilbert










First place: Noah Hilbert, Seneca, Uncle Darin & Lorelei

Uncle Darin and Lorelei











Second place: Tyson Habhab, Fort Riley, Little Apple

Little Apple











Second grade

Nat Goscha and Oliver Stephan Simmonds










First place: Nathaniel (Nat) Goscha, Leawood, A Hungry Caterpiller

A Hungry Caterpillar










Second place: Oliver Stephan Simmonds, Newton, Growing Food For Others

Growing Food For Others









Third grade

Nora Hein and Owen Sime










First place: Owen Sime, Lenexa, Farmers











Second place: Nora Hein, Hillsboro, Kansas Barn

Kansas Barn











Fourth grade

Reese Hedstrom and Cole Keeten










First place: Cole Keeten, Phillipsburg, The Beauty of a Kansas Oil Field at Sunset

The Beauty of a Kansas Oil Field at Sunset










Second place: Reese Hedstrom, Cheney, Hometown Patriots

Hometown Patriots










Fifth grade

Reagan Fitts and Keera Lacock










First place: Keera Lacock, Rossville, Gentry Farm Silo

Gentrl Farm Silo














Second place: Reagan Fitts, Overland Park, Kansas Tree of Life

Kansas Tree of Life











Sixth grade

Johanna Walker and Ethan Kneisler










First place: Ethan Kneisler, Lyndon, Time for Supper

Time For Supper










Second place: Johanna Walker, Franklin, Presentation











Seventh grade

Hannah Koepp and Ashlan Nicole Brooks










First place: Ashlan Nicole Brooks, Pittsburg, Bird at Dusk

Bird at Dusk











Second place: Hannah Koepp, Overland Park, Sunflower Fun

Sunflower Fun



















Eighth grade

Dylan Koehn










First place: Dylan Koehn, Bennington, County Living

County Living











Second place: Sadie Grimm, Morrill, From the Hand of a Child

From the Hand of a Child










Ninth grade

Katie Glenn










First place: Katie Glenn, Burlington, Somewhere Over the Rainbow . . .

Somewhere Over the Rainbow . . .









Second place: Justin D’Silva, Shawnee, Downtown KC

Downtown KC











10th grade

Kevin Isaac Towry and Sammie Strnad










First place: Sammie Strnad, Wellington, Little Harvest Helpers

Little Harvest Helpers










Second place: Kevin Isaac Towry, Bucklin, Wind at Dusk

Wind at Dusk










11th grade

Katherine Cunningham and Ashton Faith Imel










First place: Ashton Faith Imel, Bucklin, Coming Home

Coming Home













Second place: Katherine Cunningham, Merriam, Sunflowers











12th grade

Marissa Kaye Vaughn and Chance Parker










First place: Chance Parker, Topeka, Beautiful Kansas Bison

Beautiful Kansas Bison










Second place: Marissa Kaye Vaughn, Salina, Row of Trees

Row of Trees












Other 2016 contest links

Happy Birthday, Kansas! 2016 photo collage



















Happy Birthday, Kansas! Student Photo Contest collage 2


Students entries in 2016