Jump to Navigation

Student photo contest - 2017

Happy Birthday, Kansas! student photo contest

Your Community History - Presented January 26, 2018

Congratulations to the student photographers in the Happy Birthday, Kansas! Photo Contest! We would like to thank our presenters Governor Sam Brownback, Marearl Denning with the legislative spouses, the state senators and representatives, and the University of Kansas Chamber Singers. Jennie Chinn, Kansas Historical Society executive director, was emcee. We also thank the students who entered 627 photos from 47 Kansas counties!

2017 Happy Birthday, Kansas! Student Photo Contest

Student winners:

First grade

First grade winners 2017








Jake Sibley, Topeka, Our Beautiful Capitol at Night, first place

Our Beautiful Capitol at Night













Adynn R. Milburn, Elkhart, Getting Ready for Morton County Fair, second place

Getting Ready for Morton County Fair









Second grade

Second grade winners 2017













Faith McMannis, Canton, Elevator at sunset, first place

Elevator at Sunset






Grayson Maxwell, Larned, Cannon at Fort Larned, second place

Cannon at Fort Larned






Third grade

Third grade winners 2017












Michaelia Ferguson, Mount Hope, Dazzling Trees, first place

Dazzling Trees







Samuel Rogers, Auburn, Still Standing, second place

Still Standing







Fourth grade

Fourth grade winners 2017










Emmie Grimm, Morrill, Stood the Test of Time, first place

Stood the Test of Time






Kaitlyn Popejoy, Pittsburg, Miners Memorial, second place

Miners Memorial






Fifth grade

Fifth grade winners 2017








Josephine B. Denney, Lansing, Leavenworth Veterans Day Parade, first place

Leavenworth Veterans Day Parade






Katy Prieb, Fence and One-Room Schoolhouse, second place

Fence and One-Room Schoolhouse






Sixth grade

Sixth grade winners 2017








Trudy Hein, Hillsboro, Harvest Time, first place

Harvest Time






Regan Hedstrom, Cheney, A Day on the Farm, second place

A Day on the Farm






Seventh grade

Seventh grade winners 2017








Jal Maru, Topeka, Reclaiming the Past, Framing the Future, first place

Reclaiming the Past, Framing the Future






Dylan Adkins, Overland Park, The Old Shawnee Mission Supply Wagon, second place

The Old Shawnee Mission Supply Wagon







Eighth grade

Eighth grade winners 2017








Mikayla Skidmore, Smith Center, Osborne Courthouse, first place

Osborne Courthouse






Braelynn Cunningham, Ashland, Friday Night Lights, second place

Friday Night Lights










Ninth grade

Ninth grade winners 2017








Aiden Moore, Canton, Foggy Main Street, first place

Foggy Main Street






Isaac Richardson, Topeka, Railroad Vision, second place

Railroad Vision






10th grade

10th grade winners 2017















Sophie Osborn, Chanute, Abandoned, first place







Celey Johnson, McPherson, Refinery at Sunset, second place

Refinery at Sunset






11th grade

11th grade winners 2017








Jillian Ross-Mason, Canton, Sunset Courthouse, first place

Sunset Courthouse






Terra Saunders, Galva, Lily, second place







12th grade

12th grade winners 2017








Ashton Faith Imel, Bucklin, Amber Waves of Grain, first place

Amber Waves of Grain






Emma Marvin, Wichita, Kansas Sunset, second place

Kansas Sunset












Download version 1 | JPG | PDF

Download version 2 | JPG | PDF

2017 contest composite poster - first places

2017 contest composite poster - second places

Follow these links to the photographs in Flickr:



Students entries in 2017



This year's awards for first- and second- place prizes are made possible through donations from these people and organizations. Please help us thank them for their generosity.


  • Representative Scott Schwab - Kansas House District 49 - and Michelle Schwab


  • AT&T Kansas
  • Representative J. Stephen Alford - Kansas House District 117 - and Peggy Alford
  • Bukaty Companies
  • Centene Management Company, LLC
  • Senator Jim Denning  - Kansas District 8 – Marearl Denning
  • Kansas Association of Medicaid Health Plans
  • Reach Out Kansas, Inc.
  • Law Firm of Smithyman & Zakoura


  • Representative John Barker - Kansas House District 70 - and April Barker
  • Senator Elaine Bowers - Kansas Senate District 36 - and Charles Bowers
  • Representative Susan Concannon - Kansas House District 107
  • Senator Dan Kerschen - Kansas Senate District 26 - and Noreen Kerschen
  • Representative Greg Lewis - Kansas House District 113 - and Susan Lewis
  • Senator Carolyn McGinn - Kansas Senate District 31
  • Kenneth Selzer - Kansas Insurance Commissioner
  • Senator John Skubal - Kansas Senate District 11
  • Senator Richard Wilborn - Kansas Senate District 35
  • Representative Kathy Wolfe-Moore - Kansas House District 36


  • Representative Barbara Ballard - Kansas House District 44 - and Albert Ballard
  • Whitney B. Damron, PA, and Kathy Damron
  • Senator Bud Estes - Kansas Senate District 119 - and Renae Estes
  • Federico Consulting, Inc.
  • Senator Tom Hawk - Kansas Senate District 22 - and Diane Hawk
  • Ronald and Julie Hein
  • Senator Julia Lynn - Kansas Senate District 9 - and Jeff Lynn

Past contests