Jump to Navigation

Student photo contest

Happy Birthday, Kansas! student photo contest

Congratulations to this year's photo contest winners! We thank Lieutenant Governor Lynn Rogers for presenting the awards, the sponsors for their support, and Marearl Denning for her dedication to the program.

See the winning photographs and highlights of this year's awards.

  • 2018 - presented January 29, 2019

Students across Kansas were invited to leave a legacy for future generations by depicting our life today. The theme for this year's student photo contest was to capture images of home and family. 

Images above: Harvest Time, by Trudy Hein, sixth grade; A Day on the Farm, by Regan Hedstrom, sixth grade; Little Harvest Helpers, by Sammie Strnad, 10th grade

Photograph by L. W. HalbeL. W. Halbe was a teenager who left a legacy of time and place growing up in Kansas. At the age of 15 he discovered a small box camera and began taking pictures of his community in Dorrance, like this one of his brother and sister. His photographs are now among the Kansas Historical Society collections.

You, too, can leave us with a remarkable record of Kansas, from the 21st century.


  • Must be work of students and photographed in Kansas in 2018
  • Categories divided by grade, first through 12th
  • Students are encouraged to tell a story through their photographs
  • Entries can be submitted online and via email
  • Maximum of five entries per student
  • Winners will be announced as part of Kansas Day in January 2019, at the Kansas State Capitol in Topeka
  • Families of the Kansas Historical Society and Kansas Historical Foundation are not eligible to enter



Jim Denning, Kansas Senate District 8, and Marearl Denning


AT&T Kansas
Bukaty Companies
Centene Management Company, LLC
Susan Concannon, Kansas House District 107
Reach Out Kansas, Inc.
Smithyman & Zakoura, Chartered


Elaine Bowers, Kansas Senate District 36
Whitney B. Damron, P.A.
Tom Hawk, Kansas Senate District 22
Hein Governmental Consulting, LLC
Ken Selzer, Kansas Insurance Commissioner
John Skubal, Kansas Senate District 11
Richard Wilborn, Kansas Senate District 35


Bud Estes, Kansas Senate District 38
Barbara Ballard, Kansas House District 44

Happy Birthday, Kansas! Student Photo Contest Entries


Marearl Denning, project coordinator

Past contests

  • 2018 - presented January 29, 2019
  • 2017 - presented January 26, 2018
  • 2016 - presented January 27, 2017
  • 2015 - presented January 29, 2016
  • 2014 - presented January 29, 2015