Jump to Navigation

Student photo contest

Happy Birthday, Kansas! student photo contest

Going to School in Kansas

Entry deadline is 5 p.m. Friday, December 20, 2019

Students across Kansas are invited to leave a lasting legacy for future generations by depicting our life today. The theme for this year's student photo contest is Going to School in Kansas.

Participants: First grade through high school during 2019
Partners: Sponsored by the Kansas legislative spouses in conjunction with the Kansas Historical Society
Contest: Winners to be notified to be part of Kansas Day at the Kansas State Capitol in Topeka, on January 29, 2020
Awards: First place in each grade level will receive iPads, second place in each grade level will receive Kindles


  • Photographs should tell a story about going to school in Kansas
  • Must be work of student and photographed in Kansas in 2019
  • Up to five entries per student
  • Submit entries here or via email, kshs.information@ks.gov, between August 20 and December 20, 2019
  • Families of the Kansas Historical Society and Kansas Historical Foundation are not eligible to enter

2019 Flier (PDF)  2019 Flier (JPG)

Images above: Sixth grade class at Grant Elementary School in Topeka, circa 1910; Facing the Giants by Lauren Meier, Topeka, entry in 2018 student photo contest; Cimarron students, 1911

Congratulations to the 2018 photo contest winners! We thank Lieutenant Governor Lynn Rogers for presenting the awards, the sponsors for their support, and Marearl Denning for her dedication to the program.

See the winning photographs and highlights of this year's awards.

  • 2018 - presented January 29, 2019

2019 Sponsors


John Barker, Kansas House of Representatives, District 70
Elaine Bowers, Kansas Senate, District 36
Bukaty Companies
Whitney B. Damron, P.A.
Jim Gartner, Kansas House of Representatives, District 53
Tom Hawk, Kansas Senate, District 22
Ron and Julie Hein, Hein Governmental Consulting, LLC
John Skubal, Kansas Senate, District 11


Happy Birthday, Kansas! Student Photo Contest Entries


Marearl Denning, project coordinator

Past contests

  • 2018 - presented January 29, 2019
  • 2017 - presented January 26, 2018
  • 2016 - presented January 27, 2017
  • 2015 - presented January 29, 2016
  • 2014 - presented January 29, 2015